The role of comments in raising reputation

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)


We all want to become whales instead of minnows. That seems a true statement, as we all want to be the best we can be, and surely doing a whale's worth of work is better than a minnow's!

However, as my friend @modernpastor points out, there are many ways to becoming a whale and not all of them are equal. He has a post entitled This is the major key here on Steemit that made me realize some important things about the process of growing on Steemit.

I totally agree with him in that engagement is the key, and it also needs to be consistent, personal, and positive. I have struggled with social media for a long time because I am introverted ( am basically deaf, so hearing conversations is really difficult) but recently realized that actually social media is ideal for me because I don't have to hear...I can post and just read comments!

Now, if I understand the way steempower and rewards work, curating can really rack up reputation and rewards just as quickly as posts do. Plus, I suspect, that if one comments well and often on other people's posts, they will gain readership quicker than the hit and miss of minnows posting without established followers. I want to write quality material and have people gain positive things from reading it: The rewards are a byproduct of that process.

That process is having a conversation with others: Which is what we do every time we leave comments:-)

This is what I feel makes Steemit so unique and valuable, is because it gives a platform where curating and commenting are viewed as integral parts of the conversation...not just posting is compensated!

An example @modernpastor gives of @charles1 is illuminating because he has over 12,000 posts and when I looked at his blog he has far more comments on other people's post than original posts of his own. I would like to mention that he started in June of 2017 and already has a reputation score over 60 and over 2000 followers. And he has earned those followers through both his original posts and his positive comments, just as @modernpastor is doing and I am trying to do.

The point of this post sweetly stated is this: We can grow as big as we want to be, as long as we put in the work and engage the Steemian community. Do it consistently, personally, and in a positive manner.

That way the journey will taste sweet also:-)

If you have comment would sure like to hear them, resteem and upvote if you found this valuable:-)

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem Community @presentminded! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

upVoted 100%, followed, resteeMed & promoted.. via @cnts keep it up mate.. :}

Thanks @cnts! I appreciate that! Following you back, you look like you have some great content. Think I am going to learn a lot:-)

happy to help mate! hope all is good your way. I post every day and will do till i retire in about 50 years .. #steemitvocation

Thanks @cnts! I like that attitude of yours and am trying to post every day myself. I got burned out on wordpress and facebook but am really excited about this platform, and I feel like it is a much better community for creative people, I have made more friends (like-minded) in the last montheemit than I ever did on facebook. Keep posting and I will keep reading and learning:-)

@hamzatanoli, upvotes go towards engaging comments... just asking for an upvote is not engaging commentary.

thank you for this post. i'll start commenting more often.

Contribute to me, I will back your contribution

Regards
@tamimiqbal

Lovely post, this is just the fact that I learned not long and I am applying it. So far so good
Thanks for sharing

Thank you @princeso! I appreciate your feedback and comment:-)

Thank you @drmor! Looked at your blog and you have some interesting stuff on computer software and AI will follow you:-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66740.62
ETH 3336.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72