"Upvoting Your Own Comments" Option Should Be Disabled.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

textgram_1497978670.png

I see there is an option to upvote one's own comment. I know this exists for a long time.

I have seen people upvote their own comment to generate SBD and Steem for themselves.

I tried it on my own account 2 days ago. And it works.

But now, especially after HardFork 19, this option to Upvote One's Own Comment should be disabled.

For now, instead of 40 votes of evenly spread voting power (unless one uses a slider) a user now has 10 votes at Full Power. Everyone's voting power has gone up 4x.

While the option to upvote one's own "Post" is good and should stay, the option to "Upvote One's Own Comments" should be disabled.

For this action generates money for an action that doesnt add value in any manner to the platform.

A Minnow could now simply make money, just by making 10 comments and later self-upvoting them at full power. Even upvoting his own "Thank You" replies would be sufficient.

If Minnow X's voting power is $0.50 and he upvotes 10 of his comments at full power everyday, that equals $5/day or $150 per month. Thats crazy.

If the option of Upvoting One's Own Comments is disabled, the Minnow would try and make Upto 10 New Posts a Day to use that extra Voting power for his own good or if he makes lesser than 10 posts, he would spend that voting power on curating someone else's work.

Please correct me if I am wrong.

PS: Just a suggestion

Sort:  

I disagree – commenting is a vital part of the community, so saying it does not add value is not correct in my opinion. I think either you should not be able to vote for yourself at all, or you should be able to vote for yourself on anything you write, including both posts and comments.

Note that other social media platforms allow self-liking, including Facebook and Twitter.

Commenting is good.. I agree but upvoting your own comment for money is weird.

No weirder than upvoting your own post. Which is why I say you should be able to do both or neither, not one or the other.

But that's just my opinion. I'm curious what others think.

Your argument is logical, I am also eager to know the views of other people.

Well you could always upvote my comment. That would be awsome!!

Ha ha ha

For sure

I must look this... I did not know that this .

This is strange isnt it?

hmm nice info but i dntknw you wrong r rite lol

AGREE 100%
CAUTION WITH THE STEEMY WIND 😂

What if I reply with a "." And self upvote it for my $0.34

Thats better than clicking photos in the sun with a DSLR

Or keep replying to each other with 10 comments a day on this thread for a week.

Chat to make money ...roflz
What better way to laugh all the way to the bank 😂😂

I mean.. it should'nt be this easy.

Sometimes I like to upvote my comments - but just for a few cents, as then my comment moves up the list.. If it happens to be a whale i am commenting on, this could result in quite a bit of extra exposure.

Also, most of my comments that I upvote in this way are not simply one sentence, or just a meme.. I do attempt to engage the original poster, and maybe I have a question I am hoping to get answered..

Ah ok
This sounds reasonable to an extent. :)

Just that some people are totally misusing this feature :)

Yes, it certainly is being abused. I came across a "self-upvoted" comment on another thread where the commenter had given himself just over $100.. For a comment? Wow!

I also keep hearing that views and upvotes as a whole are down. (I have not noticed myself though). Could this also be the result of"self-voting"?

Self-voting and less voting.

I am voting less too..for I am yet to get my voting power slider.

I agree, when they upvote there comment they could reduce the slider but some don't some are getting $15 per each comment, so what's the point of the community

Exactly. Why post then?

Simply keep commenting and upvoting those comments.

Seems its the easy way to go

That self upvote is some honest steemians money.

It should have gone to him.

Sounds like real world corruption. Rich looting the poor.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 64884.95
ETH 2619.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82