You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chasing the Steem Dream

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

The scammer Jerry who made all of the videos about how one could make money blogging brought me here. I had spent years self publishing and had burnt out on it. I was skeptical of Bitcoin but couldn't deny the pump I saw happening that had no rational explanation. This was my entry into the crypto world using a skill I possessed. I looked at the trending posts and hot posts and knew with my research skills I would make a killing.

It wasn't but a month or so that I saw what bullshit he was touting and almost threw in the towel believing this was all a scam. But I saw some posters whose themes intrigued me and began making some connections as I discovered research I had never come across before. I am skeptical by nature and take stuff like Q and other fantastic truther claims with a grain of salt. Yet for some out there stuff, I began seeing actual references. Over the next several months connections grew (such as with you) and here I am 10 months later. I still have not bought into the cult mentality some seem to have about this place and blockchain in general, as it seems to me they would want us all using blockchains as it records every single move, unlike fiat that can be handled in the dark of night.

Despite that, I have been able to help others at least equal to the little I bought, so if it folds and I lose what I have accumulated I have been able to help others who cashed out because they needed it more than I, so I didn't lose anything really.

Posting anything is pretty simple, but even then, do we just want anything being posted

I have argued this with one of the strongest cheerleaders here, taskmaster. He pushes the idea that people should post 5-10 times daily to redistribute the wealth. I asked him several times who he thought would actually be voting on these posts of no value. I often don't have enough for all the quality posts in my circle, absolutely none for crap.

I also believe it is obvious given the current state of Steemit.inc and the costs that they can no longer maintain, that it is possibly why they drag their feet on new signups. Believe it is why some are chased off the platform. They can't handle the costs for tons of posts, especially shit posts. Plus, even the new blood that isn't shit posting and gain quality followers are indeed, as taskmaster somewhat deduces, taking payout from the mouths of the wealthy. The less lower class here, the more for the top. I think of it as an incentive for some of the behavior we see from some of the less rational at the top. Their rationale is get off my playground, this money is mine.

I am definitely here for money, although it sure isn't happening now. It may never happen. But possibly Steem may hit big and if so then it was a good gamble. If not, like I previously mentioned, I participate in communities where my participation has benefited others more needy and in a way it was like I was able to give them my money.

Sort:  

Oh Jerry Banfield? Yeah that guy is a nut.

It is shared thoughts that change the world for the better, toward everyone enjoying a better quality of life. Money is only a means that also plays a role in the bigger scheme of things. If this platform can serve as a seedbed in which innovative thoughts can be cultivated and grown to where they can be planted out and have real value in terms of having a happier society at large, I think it will have succeeded.

The rewards for good posts should perhaps not be seen as an incentive, but rather as a form of compensation for the time spent doing so. Not all people with good ideas can afford to spend the time expressing those thoughts in understandable language and publishing them without going hungry..

A good rundown on your history here, thanks for the feedback. Good points made. Many want mass adoption so that Steem is seen as a good investment for people to buy into. Otherwise, mass adoption doesn't mean more buying if it's still not attraction, because most of the people coming in aren't going to be buying STEEM. If that is assumed to be what happens, it will be another failure. And further, with that adoption, how it is sustained to support them all? Can everyone get rewards? There's a bottleneck in here that will take time to overcome... but the RocksDB will help on the technical side though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58027.38
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38