Meta-Steemit Part 2

in #steemit6 years ago

Meta-SteemitPart2.jpg

Meta-Steemit Part 2

The Great Steemit.com Bandwidth Issue

So during a busy time at the day job, I had a short break and so I decided to log in to Steemit and see what was going on. As far as my posts and comments went, things were quiet at that point, and so I checked Steemd.com to see if my bandwidth as calculated on that site had gone back up to 100% yet.

It hadn't. In fact it had not budged at all. It was still at 99.76% the same as yesterday.

This figures, because I hadn't posted anything or commented on anything in the previous 12 hours or so. But I was interested to see that it hadn't risen at all. So I am still wondering what needs to happen for it to rise. And I am still curious about whether or not it ever returns to 100%.

I didn't take a screenshot at the time. I wish I had now. But I was busy and so I didn't even think about it. I went back to working with the students I was assigned, who were all busy working on written and filmed news stories that day for the BBC. Our nominal deadline was 4pm to go live with a half-dozen stories containing written copy, photographs, and video. Everything is written, filmed and edited by the students, with guidance from yours truly. So it was heads down aiming for 4pm.

I didn't actually surface until after 6pm, when I started packing up to go home. As I was packing away my personal computers to take them home, I had the thought to check Steemit and Steemd. Somebody had resteemed one of my posts, and I had a couple of comments. And then I checked Steemd to see if my bandwidth had gone up yet.

It hadn't gone up. But it had gone down. Down? DOWN?

I had not been expecting it to have gone down. After all, I hadn't posted anything - not a blog post, not a comment, not a reply. I had logged on to look at my page but that was it. Was that really enough activity to use up some bandwidth?

Three things had happened:

  1. I had logged in and looked at my Blog page, and then clicked the Comments tab, followed by the Replies tab.
  2. Somebody had Resteemed one of my blog posts.
  3. Two comments had been left on my blog posts, and one reply was left on one of my comments on somebody else's posts.

So that was a real mystery to me. Which one or ones of those actions had eaten up some of my bandwidth? Had they all had an effect? Is Steemd.com accurate when it is calculating bandwidth? Is it in real time or at some delay? I am now off to go and find out what actually uses up bandwidth.

So what uses up Steemit.com bandwidth? I'm aiming to have some answers to my questions over this weekend. In the meantime, if you have any idea (or you would like to suggest an avenue of inquiry for me to follow up) then by all means post in the comments and I will go take a look for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85