I'm Offering Daily Steam Dollar Transfers to Flag Spam - If you oppose this please explain why #steemit - #doyourpart

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


I was disheartened that the community probably wasn't very interested with this, and I was just wasting my time, so decided to withdraw these rewards.

But after some encouragement from @acidyo @getssidetracked  @neoxian and @sigmajin I've decided to offer these bounties.

If you have a problem with this, I'd be grateful if you would explain why, though I understand you are under no obligation to do so.

Bounty

- 10% of all Steam Dollars I earn everyday, starting from 17:00 GMT+1 19/07/2016 to 23:59 GMT+1 19/07/2016. 

- Conditions:


Flag spam posts, posts in  clearly  incorrect categories (e.g. an Donald Trump article in sex), plagiarism, and suspicious behaviour which hints at a scam.

Compile all your flags (and a reason for flagging) in a post, and post it in the tag #doyourpart.

If you are using a flag bot, then you must compile 3 times more spam than users. (though I imagine flag bots make enough already that they wouldn't be interested in this)

See @neoxian's post in the #doyourpart for reference.


Everyday, I will give the award to the person who has flagged the most content meeting the above mentioned criteria.


Today I awarded @neoxian $20 in SBD (so around $33 currently) based on earnings up to about 12PM. By the end of the day that could've been $50-$100+.


Hopefully others will join me so that we can reward more community cleaners.


Be wary of this Social Engineering exploit!


#steemit #doyourpart

Sort:  

I'll sweeten the pot and add 5 steem dollars to whoever @positive picks for the next award. (Which won't be me since I'm resting a bit to let my voting power recharge.)

Why don't you just query down votes by user. Isn't thee a way to do that? I am too busy down voting nsfw to compile them all

I'm sure that can probably be done. Though I want there to be some sort of justification for flagging, to provide a disincentive for reckless or malicious flagging.

Perhaps using piston you may be able to record all your downvotes, fetch the posts they were on and send them to a single post?

Then just write "nsfw"?

There will always be tons of spam, and that number will only get higher as the number of users increase.

What we should be trying to do is find hidden gems that deserve to be discovered. That would probably be a lot more fruitful.

I've written a post on this. give it a read if you don't mind.

I actually considered rewarding hidden gems yesterday as well.

I will consider it depending on the success of this campaign.

Yes there will probably always be spam, the aim is to discourage prominent spam from being well rewarded.

As long as the bulk of spam gets nested quickly and only receives a few cents, then the network isn't so troubled.

I like the idea, starting now :)

Need I look for spam? And how will you keep track of those who monitors spam?

"Compile all your flags (and a reason for flagging) in a post, and post it in the tag #doyourpart."

See @neoxian's post in the tag for reference.

OK. I like. Activities today try this.

Upvoted!!

steemit.com/@craigslist/posts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74