A New Class: The Nouveau Whale

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I exposed @infovore in greater detail here


It really does appear at times as if Steemit is a caricature of human society.

Recently I have faced the wanton arrogance of this new class: The Nouveau Whale.

They aren't early investors, nor are they early miners.

They were poor newbies, often with connections to whales, who were blessed with one or two viral posts, received some STEEM Power clout are now on whale voting lists.

One of them @infovore negged one of my comments, with 5 upvotes (ctrl+f "positive" and click next a few time) to obscurity, for what reason:

Annoying formatting of my comment (i.e. using the HTML the site has allow me to use...lol)

Verbatim: "the font was too big and distracting" - @infovore

This class have a new found arrogance: this quasi-delusion that they are now whales (but if you look at the numbers they are no way near, check richlists).

They'll abuse their power to censor what "annoys" them, and they'll put down newbies for "whining", instead of offering the necessary encouragement and support that will inspire them to continue to create content.

>Which is necessary for the platform to achieve, and to sustain mass-adoption...

Only a nouveau whale could say he's "disappointed in me" (lol, am I your son?) for expressing polite dissent...

And just as the nouveau riche are gaudy and brash in the real world,

so are the nouveau whale.

Thankfully, they are more arrogant than they are powerful, and their socio-economic position hangs on threads.

#steemit #money #politics #life

Sort:  

We're only at 35,000 approx. members so far, so I feel like this may become less pronounced as time passes and membership rises. What do you think??

I would think it becomes more pronounced, though perhaps more tiered.

Upper-middle whale, lower-middle whale, middle-whale.

With true Whales at the top, and the working-whales at the bottom.

Even less unique members I guess.

Interesting outlook on things! I've only been here a little over a week and I hear a lot about Minnows and Dolphins and Whales. (oh my!)

Honestly, I'm just having fun meeting a bunch of interesting new people - learning a bunch of interesting new things that I'd never know about - and sharing this new place with people. I post a bit too, and I comment more than I post.

Have a great day - BELIEVE IN THE POWER OF POSITIVITY!

-bigedude

p.s. - wow I just noticed your name is positive - I honestly didn't right before that!!!

It seems you need to be noticed by a whale or whales, if not enjoy the 10 dollar posts =/

Yep. Once in a while a whale looks in my direction and I make a nice amount.

Hi minnow . a friend offering here hahaha.
Join my minnow class will you .
If you do visit my blog if you have some time :D .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46