[Proposal] Change how we rank posts after first payoutsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Steemians. Recently I caught myself, not voting on posts, after the first payout. Now I know this is wrong. So I thought, I should analyze why I behaved in this manner?

It turns out after the initial payout, even with the 30day later-on-payout, that this simply was, all that was, done. Currently, the 30day trending section is not being utilized. It simply does not show the communities values. And the rewards are also limiting the posts potential rank. For example, a life-saving post that garnered 10K$ would only be visible for 24-36H before becoming Nothing and no longer found. Unless you, somehow, remembered to make a bookmark.

My Proposal:

  1. Make the 30day Trending section less minimalistic and more "colorful." Have a post title written over the Featured Picture? If there aren't any, pictures, use the Steemit logo. Only after the 2nd payout, should a position of a post, lose ranking. In this Scenario, a 10k$ post would be higher than both the 24H and 30day trending section.
  2. Furthermore. Some users are not 365days a year on steemit, voting. And I furthermore would like the 30Day payout method to resemble this fact.

My case in point: author @myfirst has amazing content and opinions. However, after the first payout, it is almost useless for me to upvote those posts other than to give a "pat on the back." And this would hinder serious writers. They do not want a 24H "on the top" time. They want 30days on the FrontPage!

So: change how the 30days trending section works as well has how we calculate the 2nd payout.
Or could we just allow for say Half of the weight to be automatically added to a post for the second payout? So that a post:
1.Would have half of the first voter's weight after the first payout.( To be used for 2nd payout)

  1. Keep it's relative ranking weight in the 30day section

Also, make the 30day trending section more "beautiful." The idea is if we have a legendary post it would be legendary for more than 24h( minus the time it took to become legendary)

Sort:  

I have been thinking along the same lines. I am still figuring out how steemit works under the hood and reasons for how voting and payouts are regulated. I think there is too little incentive to monetize posts older than first payout. But quality material should be for the long haul and should be able to earn more from upvotes later on

yes that is the idea.

Me? I just edit and re-issue my posts after a month or two if they are not time-sensitive or still relevant. It seems a waste to keep them away. You can't keep a good post down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49