What is the true value of steemit?

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)


I'll start this post of by asking a few simple questions... what is the value of steemit...? Is it the money we receive? Is it the information? Is it sharing your interests with others?

What is the answer to these questions


Well to be honest the answer all depends on you and what you are seeking from steemit. Reading through many posts from many different people, one can see that their main focus is on how to improve blogging, tips on what to blog about. Most blogs are centred on making money, getting the most votes... have we missed the mark by our own greed for money... have we been blinded to the greatness of steemit by the hunt for money...? I was once told that money can save a person but in the same breath it can destroy a person as well. I might still be young, but I am willing to learn, I am hungry for information and starving to find out how things work and why these things work that way.

My answer

Before I tell you my version of what steemit means to me, I want to share a little bit of my experience first being introduced to this site. My father had been on for a while now and one weekend showed me his account and some of the posts. ALL I SAW WAS $ EVERYWHERE and A LOT of them. I immediately thought of how much money I can make and I am sure many of us had the same thoughts. I had a huge plan on how to make as much money as I can, I was going to try make as much as possible as many others are trying right now. I was blinded by greed... blinded by the hunt for money... 3 days ago I read a post, it was really good had amazing content and all the information I needed at that time for something which I had been searching for. 2 days later I thought back to it after reading a post on how to blog together to make blogs better to make more money and get more votes. Last night lying in my bed I thought about what steemit is and realised I am missing the true mark, the true value of steemit. The true value of steemit to me isn't the amount of money which I can make but what I can learn from it, which can help me grow as a person and teach me new things which I had never known of before. I hope that we all stop and think about what steemit means to you.

What is the true value of steemit...

That I leave to you to decide...

Sort:  

downvoted for username, that is toxic.

That's cold... maybe his real name is "Percival Oswald Lewis O......." nah, you're probably right

I don't understand the comment?

He is impersonating a big altcoin exchange, hoping for people to misstype the adress and send funds to his account.

I see, thanks for clarifying.

I think steemit harness something like the free market with its voting process so that the content that is subjectively considered the best by the majority wins out. This may mean that those who simply want to make money will not focus on creating good content and so will not get rewarded, and others may play the system by giving the majority want they want, but that's valuable so they should get rewarded.

I, like you, hope to be able to learn from the platform, and to this end it is my hope that as steemit develops it will support a diverse range of interests. I think the community will become savvy and avoid up voting those after an easy buck, but this will take time and is be part evolution of the community. The danger is if too many people are turn off by what they perceive as poor content winning the popular vote.

This is why we can't have nice things.

I would have to agree, I found this place due to an news article and decided to look, because of the currency. After reading some stuff, it seems like you mostly need luck to make any significant dollars and that won't happen by specifically trying to make money.

I guess many people can have different opinions on the same subject. I share your vision, as i can get to read a lot of amazing stories from around the world and learn a bit of everything

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59647.03
ETH 2622.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44