What are the limits on SteemitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Let me say, I definitely believe that all, absolutely original content deserves a much larger payout than something that is only shared from somewhere else and expounded on. Now, I do have original content in the form of poems and some sayings but I make a lot of use of prior research by others. Do I anticipate making $100 for this type of stuff, of course not but there are things I wish to expose people to, as that is my main objective on any social platform. I have always done tons of research by reading other people's books and watching others videos, yet my time invested in the research to find some of the things I share is no less valuable than a recipe for fluffy pancakes. I usually write short introductions to what I share but I have been made to feel guilty as if my efforts do not constitute work, although much of the information I share is absolutely priceless in some cases. If people are not open to at least tipping people for directing them towards things that are valuable, then I fear Steemit will perhaps lose some steam to social networks that are planning to use tipping for whatever the user decides to tip for, leaving that totally up to the discretion of the user. I am in no way suggesting that people whom clearly commit plagiarism, should be rewarded, especially if they do not make it clear that they are only wishing to share something they found. I for instance love to listen to music that exists and original music, I would obviously tip out more for original material but I am not against leaving some small gratuity to someone that plays songs I love and haven't heard in a while, this is similar to me paying a DJ for a mix CD because of his efforts to arrange a quality selection of music. All that being said lets look at a small section from Wikipedia about gratuity...

From a theoretical economic point of view, gratuities may solve the principal-agent problem[4] (the situation in which an agent, such as a server, is working for a principal, such as a restaurant owner or manager) and many managers believe that tips provide incentive for greater worker effort.[5] However, studies of the real world practice show that ti>quoteppin1. itemg is often discriminatory or arbitrary: workers receive different levels of gratuity based on factors such as age, sex, race, hair color and even breast size, and the size of the gratuity is found to be only very weakly related to the quality of service.[6][7]
So from the other end of the spectrum, I see things that gain money purely from the standpoint of being original but lacks quality, so besides blatantly plagiarized work, where an individual hides or tries to hide the fact that they stole the work (because this is not acceptable at all), then we should not try to set a bar for what should and shouldn't get tipped out, we must leave it free for the user to decide and not create a society of limitations on a social platform that wasn't intended to be totalitarian. We must all accept our portion in life, I am happy for those that make a lot of money for their original works but I am also not upset at those whom receive, whatever they receive by sharing what they have found. As long as what someone does, won't infringe on your work, don't become Steemit's judge and jury.

Sort:  

I see what you're saying. You might want to bring a bit of value to your post by breaking it up a bit . Instead of having a slab of text. Make it a bit easier on the reader.

Thank you for your advice! I really do value constructive criticism.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65626.89
ETH 3449.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33