Pay for Vote Bots - Are they worth using? (or am I not smart enough to work out how to use them?)

in #steemit7 years ago

question-423604_960_720.png

G'day,

This is just a short post to try and get some answers to a few questions I have. Any feedback will be appreciated.

Recently, I did a post and thought I would have a go at testing some of the more popular "Upvote Bots" that I had heard of in other peoples articles.

Basically, I paid the minimum amount of SBD that was required for each individual Bot. Thant ranged from 0.15 SBD up to 0.75 SBD.
The total amount I spent was 3.10 SBD.

Overall my post has received 36 upvotes for a total of $3.47 after 5 days. Most of the upvotes are from individuals and my regular friends from groups such as #teamaustralia.

So I guess my questions are:

  • Are the Upvote Bots worth using given I did not get much of a return from them collectively?

  • How can I actually tell how much each upvote was for each individual bot compared to my spend?

  • Did I do the wrong thing by just selecting 9 of the most popular ones and just paying the minimum?

  • Was the outcome not good just because of the low Steem price at the moment?

  • Is there some strategy to employ when using bots?

  • Any other helpful advice for me?

FYI - this is the post and you can see most of the bots in question in the comments.

https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@plumey/vegemite-this-could-be-the-most-important-historical-post-ever-on-steemit-it-s-a-bit-long-but-stick-with-it

Thanks for taking the time to read this and maybe provide some insight.

Plumey Steemit Logo.png

Minnow GIF.gif

Sort:  

I have experimented with bots and use it quite often. I only found 3 bots that are consistent in giving you more than what you paid for... others are hit and miss and sometimes nothing at all...

Look at my favorite bots on this link.. it shows you how to utilize your reward for the up-vote bots as well https://steemitblog.com/using-correct-rewards/

Cool. Thanks for the advice. How did you get the dropdown that shows the upvoter with % and amount?
My dropdown under votes just shows the name?

it is a google chrome and firefox extension called "steemit more info" very handy to see dollar value of the votes... especially from bots so you will know if that bot is not up to scratch any more...

G'day. "Steemit more Info" would have to be one of the best tools I have seen so far - Thank You!

The only problem is that I'm not so sure I want to know all the info it provides?
Most of the bots that I used actually performed quite well.
There was one with no response at all and a few that returned 2 fifths of fuckall!

Because it shows each individual upvote as well as the % vote and how much each vote is actually worth, it can open up a can of worms!

For example, there are people out there with high rep scores and very big SP who are voting at 0% or 1% - they look like they are doing the right thing but the recipient gets $0

Anyway, it puts a whole different perspective on how to look at your articles and the people who follow and upvote you!

The ones the you are seeing who have high SP but only voting 0% or 1% are probably from curation trail which means they probably put 10% of their total vote for the curation trail. That way their SP will not get drained specially if that curation trail is voting 300 people or posts...

I am following the curation trail of @centerlink so you will see that my vote sometimes is almost nothing... I know nothing is nothing but I don't see it that way, I am looking at it as the more vote I get the more exposure my post have.

Then sometimes you see my vote on your post is 100%, that means I saw your post first and voted before @centerlink or I have amended my vote and changed it 100%

I would rather have a 1% = $0.10 from a whale on a curation trail than nothing at all because that whale did not see my post.

I am not sure how your perspective on how you are looking at your article before that "steemit more info" and how it changed.

For me it made it more simple and easier. Sometimes I seen a vote value changes from low to a bit higher because they saw my post and liked it and they amended their vote to a higher value... it goes the other way as well... I posted something and I saw their vote value and then when I looked at it again it went to 0 which means they saw my post and did not liked it at all or too controversial.

I find randowhale and minnowbooster to be the most reliable. I don't generally bother with the other ones cos they are a bit hit or miss for me.

G'day. You always have a useful answer. I didn't use minnowbooster but randowhale refunded my transfer because he was asleep (lazy bugger! - Lol)

I too have been experimenting with vote bots to see if they are worth it. Thanks for your story

Have you had much luck?

I've had a mixed response some seem to work while others don't...I am looking for bots to use...

Looks like we're in the same boat at the moment.

Yes, I am looking at the different bots now.

I play around with the bots from time to time. It is diffucult to tell if you're going to make your money back from their upvotes.

One really good tool for keeping track of some of the popular bots and getting your timing right is
https://s3.amazonaws.com/yabapmatt/bottracker/bottracker.html

I agree with @bmj hey I caught you helping people again ha ha.Anyhow you have to track how long till the bot votes and you get what you pay for I personally use this site https://rawgit.com/msg768/mysteemit/master/bidder.html I am not a pro or very experienced here at steemit but at least the bots give you a decent return on your sbd when timed just right. hopefully this is helpful to you. cheers m8.

Thanks, I'll also check that one out.

Now that looks like a pretty good tool to use. Thanks, I'll have a bit of a play with it.

Better than just writing, great copywriting is about connection. Connecting the reader to the world that you want to create and to the picture that you want to paint.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65