Little known or noticed #2 - Voting

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So, I was flipping through the FAQS on Steemit yesterday, which I do periodically to try to get a handle on this strange new world.

🤔 I had been wondering why I never, ever see the potential payout of a post change (in the least!) when I upvote.

Come to find out, there's this thing called "voting power". Every time we upvote on a post we LOSE 2% of our voting power. So, the more we vote, the less it's worth to us OR to the community.

😳 Not only that, but, according to the FAQs, "New users can only upvote and downvote with 100% voting strength." !!!!!!! Which means that only the FIRST VOTE OF THE DAY on any given day counts, and that's provided you only vote 10 times a day. (We earn back our used voting strength at the rate of 20% per day.) If my vote only counts if my strength is 100%, then why continue to vote? What's the point?

😟 I'm really disappointed with this. I've only been a member for 20 days, but I've become practically addicted. I've started following people whose posts interest me, and a few I feel I can learn from. I've also had a lot of fun participating in the contests, particularly the cryptocurrency contest posted by @revelationquotes, the "name that state contest" posted by @voiceofreason, and the "MLB Daily Pick 'em" posted by @sportsncoffee.

🙄 Why, oh why did the powers that be do this? I'm not sure at what point I will cease to be a " NEW MEMBER", but I'm pretty sure it hasn't happened yet. When I looked at my voting strength yesterday I was shocked to find it was only 37%!

😭 This will greatly curtail my contest fun, because the one common requirement of any of the contests I've found is that you have to upvote the post to participate. It also means that the only way I can appreciate a post, be it an article, photo, or comment (beyond the first of the day) will be just to make a comment. I frequently do make comments, but sometimes I just upvote because I don't really have anything to add, it's my way of saying "nice work"! I can't keep upvoting, I won't even be back to 100% voting power for 5 days!

If this is news to you as well, and you want to view your own voting strength, go to https://steemd.com and enter your @username. There's a lot of other information there too, but this is all I have time for today.

I hope I haven't discouraged anyone with my post, I still love Steemit! I'll keep reading Steemit, and I'll likely keep upvoting when all is said and done. I really just wish it would mean something. 😶

Sort:  

Thank you for this, i was wondering the same ting 😞

I'm kind of hoping someone will see this and understand that it's a pretty discouraging procedure. I do understand the benefit of not rewarding those who will up vote just for gain, but this seems to be a little too restrictive for those of us who enjoy the posts and want to appreciate them.

I have been informed that if you space out your votes, not sure by how long, your voting power rejuvenates. I'm going to test this out tomorrow, I think I'll be back to 100% by then! 😃

I'll try the same, thanks for the tip!

Beep beep. Hi @norwegiansteem!
You have used tip! in your comment - that`s my magic word for sending tips ;)
Click here if you wish to learn more!

I did similar when I first started. I upvoted practically everything. At that time, you could do about 40 votes a day without seriously impacting your voting power. Until you reach about 500 Steempower, you wont have the ability to vote with less than 100% using a slider. Until then, start being more selective who you vote for and keep an eye on your voting power.

As for when you will not be a 'new member', likely the day that you do a 100% vote and see a penny or two show up on the amount as that means your Steempower is growing.

Don't give up, write good material and keep on taking part.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83