WHAT, BESIDES VOTING POWER %, DETERMINES HOW MUCH YOUR UPVOTE IS WORTHsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

I have a pretty basic question about upvoting on Steemit.

I am hoping someone who has been on Steemit for a while can help me answer it. When I do 100% upvote when my voting power is around 80%, The vote is worth about 8 cents. What I am curious about, is how is that calculated. Must be 80% times something times 100%. But what is that something! Hope someone can help me, would be great. Have a WONDERFUL day everybody!




Sort:  

good question hope someone can help out im stumped on this aswell

Thank you @mmckersie for your comment. HAHA I thought I was the only one! Thanks for your honesty.

Someone else can probably explain it much better than I can, but basically your voting power is determined by how much Steem Power you have...

OK makes sense, is that the only determinant though? Reason I am asking is because I checked out @minnowsupport's wallet and he/she only had like 500 steem power.

Well people like me delegate SP to Minnowsupport so that they can have the funds to upvote...

I see ok, how do you delegate it? Do you lend it to them at interest?

Say I wish to delegate $100 SP to minnowsupportproject. I would go to the transfer section of my wallet and transfer that amount to them (being sure to triple check the name for accuracy) They would receive my $100, and they then use it for upvotes. I do not get it back.

If you want to be in control- You can also use streemian.com to add a certain amount of $upvote. Say for instance you really liked @ArbitraryKitten s posts, and wanted to support her ;) With streemian you can set it to upvote $1.25 every time I post an article, and it's automated. set it and forget it. Or you can set it to upvote $1.25 only for my fiction posts. Does that make sense?

Are you on PAL at Discord?

OK so on those when you donate money to minnowsupportproject, do you get more or less your money back in upvotes?

Have you checked out @minnowbooster? Looks pretty cool because you can also see who is asking for upvotes and then upvote them immediately after and share in the curation rewards.

No what is PAL at Discord?

Peace Abundance Liberty. That channel has a lot of minnow help.

I can't say if you do or you don't make $ back. That is not my focus when I delegated so I have not tracked it.

I have not heard of minnowbooster yet. Thanks for the share!

Thanks so much for that referral. How do channels work, are they like tags? Nice of you to donate steem. Have great day!

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Aug 04. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Aug 04 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64578.03
ETH 2533.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64