You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Top Five Most Relevant Witnesses On Steemit? Good Question

in #steemit6 years ago

Hey, you know a witness. Me :D

All of my votes go to people in the following categories:

  • I know them :) That's the vast majority of mine.
  • I use something they have made.

No other reasons :)

They all contribute to Steemit in some form or another, so it's not empty votes in my opinion.

Sort:  

I do know you, you're right. What I didn't know, or maybe forgot, was that you'd become a witness

Okay, I just checked. You're listed, but it's showing you're offline. Is that right? There sure are a lot of inactive ones.

I took a look at your witness votes, too. I'll have to check out some of them because I don't know who they are. That's cool you know them. I think we all use a lot of things witnesses have created. And I agree there's value to that. I guess we all have our ideas as to what value is. Which is good. If voting for witnesses worked the way it should, that is. Now, we're dependent on high SP accounts to show some diversity. I'm not sure how much of that there really is.

Nah you didn't know yet, I literally set the server up 48 hrs ago :p So I'm a noob witness :p

I won't be "active" until I produce my first block, but its all running smoothly, so hopefully I won't miss it, I'd be very upset. lol

Yeah getting the high SP votes is the big challenge, I'm fairly certain I will never be top 20, maybe not even top 100. I'm doing it for the love of it though, I like steem, and it's going to be fun and exciting playing a different part in it. :)

One thing I'm curious about is, what happens when steem has 10x, 100x the users, will there be that many more witnesses? Will it even be worth it, You need to be in the top 150 I think it is to break even on server costs. Will it be changed how they are distributed?

It will be interesting, that is for sure. :)

Ah, okay. I figured I should have known and remembered something like that. Ah, and now I see you're witness application/declaration. Very cool. Congratulations. I think. :) I'll have to read through your post. I'm slowly catching up from the weekend, but I will get to it.

Well, it's probably a Catch-22 anyway, and regardless, would take time, I imagine. There's a loyalty, longevity thing going on, along with the who you know. Which you have to a degree, right? Maybe those guys can put in a good word with someone else and next thing you know, Top 20!

I'm glad you're looking forward to it. At a quick glance, it looks like you've a decent rig. Is it your own, or do you have it set up through a host site?

I'm not entirely sure how it's supposed to work, but from what I've read, we're still relying mainly on the Top 20 plus one, but that these additional witnesses have been getting some kind of compensation simply because there's more activity. The more blocks being created and at faster rates, the more need for witnesses to verify them, right?

It seems to me that increasing the number of paid witnesses has been happening since the beginning, just because of that increase of block creation. So, who knows, maybe at some point the amounts will get larger on the lower ends as well.

I'm not sure about changing the distribution. I'm not sure just what all the Top 20 really need, but I doubt they'd be interested in taking a 'pay cut.' So, that would mean growing the pot.

Good luck with that. You planning a post for when you witness your first post? Is it scheduled?

I rent the server, I pay with SBD, they only accept crypto.. haha, so it feels like it's free. lol :D

Every 63 seconds the top 20 and a backup produce a block, one every 3 seconds. The backup is picked based on their votes, so me at the moment will probably only produce 1 block a month. The backups get paid 5x more SP per block though. But the top 20 do over a thousand a day each. Its like 0.2 SP ish a block for them. The backups get about 0.9 SP. I've forgotten the exact amounts. lol

Yeah I don't see anyone wanting a pay cut.. :p

In about 5 days I will do an update post. Not sure what I will write yet, probably just about how far I've moved up the ranks, maybe what I have done with Steemcleaners. Who knows.. Maybe I would of done my first block, I can celebrate that.. Or cry if it's missed.. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43