Steemit blacklist

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I think that generally people’s thinking process is too bound by a convention. Or to analogy to prior experiences. So it’s rare that people will think of something on a first principle basis. They would say: “We’ll do this because it’s always been done that way”. Or - they would not do it because “nobody has ever done this”, so “it must not be good!”.
But that’s just a ridiculous way to think.
Because, you have to build up ignorance from the ground up. From “first principles”, as a phrase that has been used in physics. Just look at the fundamentals and construct your reasoning from that. And then see if you can have a conclusion that works, may work or may not work, and may or may not be different from what the people have done in the past. And it’s harder to think this way.
Elon Musk

I can’t resist without noticing how some of the well money-steemed posts just have no juice inside. My intention is not to create some kind of steemit blacklist, so i won’t be pointing a finger. Or maybe should I? I can think of a few... Or more.

Is such a list legit? Is it legal? It certainly isn’t moral? Nobody likes to be blacklisted. What do you think? Is it a democratic freedom at least? A political suicide?

So let us be honest. I don’t wanna see steemit creating a human-bots (just copy, paste, comment unread post, like, follow, bingo-money). Be personal. Add yourself to the story. And the most important - have a meaning. And bare in mind that I’ve shared with you my own, very personal, very meaningful photo of my youngest son (that I took with a good old manual lens).

So my main question for you is how should steem promote original work or a genuine art as opposed to waste of time - yours or mine.

I would greatly appreciate to hear your thoughts.

Thanks!


My youngest son on a freezing summer mornig

Sort:  

This is a difficult one for me. I see people on here that day in and day out post ridiculous stuff that is pure fluff...and earns big money. I regularly put my heart into everything I post, be it a trip that meant a lot to me, thoughts that I have, whatever...and most of the time, they go ignored. Such is life. But to blacklist people based on one copy/paste article (which I honestly ignore 99% of the time), may not be fair. It may be something that they found particularly interesting and wanted to share with Steemians, or they're just having a bad day. For example, I hardly ever use memes in my articles but today was rough and I had to take it out somewhere other than my regular work, soooo I posted up a meme (with an explanation). I just see it as difficult to fairly make a blacklist since a lot of people on here post about so many different topics depending on their mood. There may be a fair way to do it that I'm missing but that's my humble opinion, for now.

This is exactly how I feel too. I deliberately put this provocation into the title. I also can understand the complexity of the problem. But being an engineer, I'm sure that smarter people than myself will think of some solution how to promote genuine work better. It is 21st century after all, problem is though, but there must be some simple elegant principle, and I just wanted to tickle your thoughts on this.

I mean, at one time whales oil was the market's gold (when people used it for lightning). Now we have something much better. I feel that the historical moment is right to yield a better network. Not just another network. And I thought that steemit has this historic potential. The network can be smarter and will be better. That's what I know. I don't have instant solution though. Thanks for the comments.

Just wait until the big "celebs" come here to fish...

:coffee:

Well 2 of the reasons discordiant has said is considered low content is photography and video content. Not using others work, but even if you do the photography and video film, it is not enough to share that. The photo or video cannot speak for itself, you need to explain what it is about and why you did it, for it to have value.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67164.91
ETH 3518.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71