My Understanding of Steemit: Part one (Introduction)

in #steemit6 years ago

photo-1459257831348-f0cdd359235f.jpg
Hello Steemers/Steemians and hello people who don't know or understand Steemit.

To the Steemers:

I'm fairly new myself. I've read most of the FAQ on this site and I have to be honest, I'm still a little lost.

So here I am, reaching out to this lovely community to help educate myself and others. I'd appreciate any additional information or corrections in the comments from the pro Steemers out there.

If you've already written a helpful article for beginners, please leave it in the comments.

To the Newbies:
Are you familiar with terms like blockchain, cryptocurrency or Bitcoin?

  • If yes, then a simple way to explain Steemit is that it is built on the same type of blockchain technology as Bitcoin. Instead of Bitcoin it uses a cryptocurrency called Steem.
  • If no, then think of creating energy and storing it as a value on a decentralized database. If this is still confusing imagine a social network that is truly controlled by the people that create the content and curate it. Imagine if Facebook didn't use algorithms or ads to dictate what appeared on your feed but also paid you to post, like, and comment. Steemers - am I correct on this analogy?
    This is possible through a unit of currency that we can invest in, Steem. The same way can invest in the stock market, we can invest in cryptocurrency and drive the value up. Simple economics of supply and demand.

This is just part one of a series of posts I plan on creating around this topic. The idea is to bring more exposure to Steemit through my other networks but in order to do this I need to fully understand it myself.

Let's start sharing with those outside of Steemit!


About Me


Hi, my name is Piper. I'm a hobbyist by nature, vegan by choice and all around Techie. I have a license in Cosmetology, degree in Communications and I'm self-taught in many other areas. What I'm currently studying: python, cryptocurrency, videography, minimalism & veganism.
Connect with me on social:


YouTube | Instagram | Website

Sort:  

im newbie here. Honestly need to learn lilbit more about steemit, but this platform seems very promising

Hello and welcome, I am learning and writing about ways we can use Steemit.com on my account, If you follow me you will learn more and see many ways to make money here. I followed you, have a good day!

Welcome to steemit @piepur. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @piepur to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Hey. Love the energy analogy! Good comparison to economics too. Even in the mainstream financial system. Whenever anyone buys a product, its akin to upvoting it and ensuring its future. The creators of this space are geniuses!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94