Why I Undelegated 5000 US Dollars!

in #steemit6 years ago

Today I decided to undelegate 5200 dollars and to keep it as just free SP in my account to use for upvotes. The reason why I did this is because I have realized that people is power. That will say the faster we can stream value back to regular content creators the better. That will say it's mainly about quality relationships and quality communication across the Blockchain. So keeping cash locked up will be bad. We want it to be constantly flowing in the ecosystem. I have also been considering that giving liquid SBD to a content creator may be better than the 7 day payout they have to wait for. So they get payment the same day. Time is King...

UNDELEGATE.jpg

I made this quick video for this article.

The major key why I undelegated is because I think that I will be a better quality curator than others. And that I really love the slider in percentage that you get when you have above 500 Steem Power. That will say I can slide the upvote value all the way down to 1%. I love the ability to be able to tweak the rewards that goes out to creators and commentors. I think currently that comments are undervalued and more curators in the comment section would really do an amazing job in spreading value around. I love when I find a 300 word quality comment. And if we can bring those higher up below an article the better.

THINKING.jpg

I been thinking deeply if it's good to delegate to others to let them do the curation for you. But I now when deeply thought more about it realize that it takes too much of your power away. Your ability to reward amazing creators goes down. And I really want us to have more engagement in the comment section. I think that Smart Media Tokens will help a lot with that because it will allow more Tokens to be earned per platform. Clearly many Smart Tokens will not succeed but the ones who do will be worth super much.

I also realize that if you want a job well done you better do it all yourself or lead as an example. Since people need some role model to look up to and most people are not ready to take that position. We are creating a world where the central authority will be you if you want. This will give humans more freedom but they also have to take a bigger responsibility.

I think it looks so much better in your account when you don't delegate your power away. It looks like you are deeper invested in the platform. Soon I may invest another 7000 dollars into Steem Power. Since I really love Steem more than any other cryptocurrency. Since I can see how Steem can be like the new Google but when it comes to Value Exchange. For me using Steemit feels like using a private bank. I love how there are no fees on transactions and that it goes in 3 seconds.

MICRO REWARDS.jpg

This is currently better than any other platform out there. I think I will talk more about giving out micro rewards in another article. That is where we are going in the world. The ability to share micro rewards to super many people. In this way we can also spread our risk around so we don't put all eggs in 1 basket. A big problem with delegation has been that Steem holds that value for 7 days so it takes some serious time to get your SP back. But I will really love to have it all back again to be able to do some serious quality curation.

There are many niches out in this world. Right now we just have a few apps on the Steem Blockchain but in the future I think we will have thousands to satisfy various niches. For example I talked with @greencross how the Steem Blockchain will need a Techno niche platform. There are also music creators that would need a specific platform just for that like the quality work that @silentscreamer do. Curation just that can be a full time job.

TRICKLE DOWN.jpg

It will take a very long time to trickle down value but it will start to happen more and more. Spreading value around to as many peoples hands as possibe. We humans operate in very slow ways compared to computers. But we can create amazing pieces of content once we are in a cool workflow. The Steem Blockchain has massively empowered me where I cannot live without this place. I can't imagine doing stuff outside of the Blockchain. Since it gives you so little value in comparison.

I really don't think blogging is what will make Steemit truly blow up. But I think the underlying payment system is what truly will 500x the value of Steem. For example when you can order a pizza using Steem via an online website. Or when large companies can creates invoices with SteemPay that developer @asbear created. I think we are just at the beginning of the: "Pointlessness of Money Era". Since I think the ability to earn money will just get easier as me move forward. All thanks to Technology.

TRANSACTIONS.jpg

I think we are moving towards a future where thousands of transactions will happen in real time going in and out for each human everyday. Tweaking where value should go. The ideal is that the value goes to real value creators. People that are doing very selfless actions. Some people have been very critical about the Blockchain space like @baronvonbitcoin latest article. But it's clearly a lack of perspective. This will take decades to evolve and become mainstream. But it will eventually happen because these services empowers you and gives you so much more value in return. Everyone is now becoming an investors and can analyze what projects they like and that seems legit.

Holding Steem Power is very cool because just by holding it you earn more every single second. But per year the Steem coin will become more rare, scarce and in demand. You need it for bandwidth on the Blockchain. That is why I will try to curate as much quality content to create the best win-win effect possible. And as I stated earlier I will mainly do it in the comment section. For me I want every piece of content to have 300 word articles below. Because they not only give massive value. But they also show that someone cared and did a massive selfless action. And it feels really good to reward that kind of things.

JUNE.jpg

So in around early June all my Steem Power will be back and I will be able to curate tons of awesome stuff. For me the big thing I try to curate is interesting original ideas. Since we are moving up to 10 billion humans on Earth we need awesome ideas on how to change billions of humans life to the better.

PIZZA.jpg

I'm looking forward to some awesome developers to create the first Taxi service that you can order with Steem. And the first Food you can order online via Steem. But this will take some energy since that means Geeks needs to connect with real business owners. And there is lots of laws and stuff that may need to be fixed first. But eventually I will order a pizza with my Steem Dollar. And it's gonna taste amazing.

(Photos in this post comes from my Shutterstock Business account)

Sort:  

Right, if everyone just delegates their SP away to bot, we will see no end to this crapflood on trending. We probably still won't see the end of it, but at least as users we can reward the content as it deserves to be curated in our opinion, not how much has been paid for it.

The market will take care of that by itself. Since the profits will always go down 📉 and then it will come down to the people that give the most value in return that will be able to keep do it. It's great that there is an option to purchase attention since we live in an attention economy. But we want it just to be done in an ethical way. But we will see better stuff in the future!

What we will see - already seeing - is impossibility to get this attention without paying, so much shit constipates trending section, real content curated by real people never makes it there.

It doesn't really matter. All the value is in the connections with other people in the comment section. After you made those connections people can go to your page and find your stuff. When you write a comment targeted to someone you have their full attention. Surely it's a lot more manual work but it's real and it works. And it's free! Well it does take time for sure. But other than that it's free. And we now can see in transparent ways who is invested and who is not.

There are also profitable Bots for example MinnowBooster. Where you can get amazing attention and a profit in return. Means you just need to have some SBD sitting ready in your account. Also with the regular bots you can get lots of attention with just a 10% max loss. Which is amazing. But it also of course means that you need to have real solid content. And you need to test the market a lot to get proper feedback to analyse what will work.

And as I have stated earlier the competition will increase with the Bots that will say only the ones who make good stuff and adds lots of value will be able to afford to keep do it. So the market will balance everything out in a fair way eventually.

In theory, you might more right that wrong, but that's in theory. What your saying, "waiting in hopes of it fixing itself," is what's hurting Steem the most NOW.
all this hype of 1million users, but we are what, 40k site interactions... that says one of two things. Massive bot accounts, and massive amounts of people who come, realize it's bots, spend time on content, get no recognition, and then say fuck this... Might as well just post my stuff on Facebook.
Let's face it, the WHOLE promotion of steem is to get paid, it's not "oh buy tons of steem first in order to pay for promotion at a 10% loss, and hope you can gain a following before you waste all your $."
No one would be here if they realized that from the get go...
Also, your system fails, as it's late stage capitalism at it's finest...

competition will increase with the Bots that will say only the ones who make good stuff and adds lots of value will be able to afford to keep do it.

Only the rich get richer.

Too much crying and complaining in this comment. Yes the current userbase is more like 100,000 people. That we already know. Capitalism is a fine system. It works! And your logic fails with rich get richer since everyone has gotten richer the last 200 years. The ones who works harder and takes more risks wins! I take risks by pay and invest! Communism is slavery and makes everyone equally shitty. With capitalism you can free man. He can get higher up by working smarter!

He's absolutely right, and it's kinda obvious, too. I'm surprised you actually started to argue with clearly valid points. And why bring up communism now? Sure, it's shit, it never worked and all the attempts were horrible failures. But capitalism is ain't no paradise, too. Unless you're a rich kid, you're already lost the life lottery.

Capitalism is paradise. If you think life is lottery then you already live with a scarcity mentality.

You and those long comments! lol I dunno why you like long comments so much. I'm a big fan of getting straight to the point and not beating around the bush.

I like long comments since it's high value and inspires people. I shows good taste that a human is taking a longer time to care and develop a longer response. It also shows abundance that there are more important things than just stating things very fast and moving on. It puts a discussion up highly.

They can be wasteful at times though. I think time is an undervalued asset. Some of the Dtube videos seem a bit long winded as well. Usually your longer comments and videos are OK but sometimes people do ramble on about nothing.

Haha. Well sure it happens. Time is undervalued yes!

You're right, it might take some time to see the kind of developments you have intimately highlighed. However, after seeing this screenshot of Steemit's Front Page from 2 years ago, I feel super confident in the strides the platform has take since then, very massive.

I can only imagine what those who started out 2 years ago have to say about the kind of growth and developments they have experienced over time. Funny you should bring this up now, I have a few video's I made over the weekend waiting to be uploaded in due time regardt the same.

All in all, this was a very insightful & informative post, I love this kind of intellectual discussions. Looking forward to seeing what you have instore for the coming month. I personally enjoy manual curation & I've been doing it since I began & I have met very many yet extremely talented people. Most of them I met while participating in the weekly #PayitForward Curation Contest by @thedarkhorse

At this moment, @joyart @omitaylor @lynncoyle1 @thedarkhorse @energyaddict22 @tcpolymath @bashadow @underground @steemcafe @reseller @dynamicrypto @scottshots @ntowl @stevenwood @joetunex @terminallyill @entrepreneur916 @wolfhart come to mind as some of the people who have helped me gain massive exposure & knowledge about this amazing plaform & I am continually grateful for their support.

Great Post @phoneinf!!!

DQmdT9Ry3NyG7K545LGBLpq7me27k5fWnvn1LHZCBnTMyrP.png

Thank you @elsiekjay, for the mention, It has been my pleasure to leave an occasional comment on your post. We (steem) need more people doing what you are in trying to support and highlight good quality bloggers.

Pleasure is all mine. I enjoy your occasional guidance and more so your willingness to help others within your reach. You're truly one person I believe shares from the heart.

Here's to better days ahead.

Thank you, I mostly just like to have fun and enjoy myself, and well when you do that, then everything is from the heart, how else can it be.

Thank you for the mention . you make me proud to be here on this platform standing by your side .

Thanks for the shout out friend. I'm glad to have played a part in your excellent growth. More to come!

Thank you @elsiekjay! I love when I help others and then they continue to pass on the torch :)

Anytime honey. Xo

Great comment! :D

I think you will be very happy with your decision to take a personal hand in curating the content. I most just love reading and commenting on good quality work, but I do not just limit myself to that alone. If I see a not so good post, that could be better I try to help that person out with suggestions.

There are a lot of new users on steemit, keeping them is what we need to try and do, @paulag did a post about how long people last, that the turn over is actually quite large. I think that look and leave is an issue we all need to address.

Many people that have been on steemit for a couple of months are quick to scold and berate the new users, instead of educating them. Such as the lack of Picture or Material source that is not theirs, the Follow for Follow comments, the begging comments. I try to educate before slamming them with shameful comments. I wish more people would try that first, but a lot are just quick to pull the trigger to make themselves feel self important.

I like your idea of the immediate reward, but I can see running out pretty quick. It used to be pretty hard to earn any rewards on comments for me, but @dustsweeper has greatly helped that aspect. I did a quick little count yesterday of my comments, 63 in 36 hours, (I found that kind of odd), and 10 votes. (I wanted to kind of see the comment to vote ratio I was getting). Out of those 10 votes 5 of them were going to be dust votes, votes valued at less than $0.010. @dustsweeper, is a program that will raise the vote level to where it passes the dust level so that the vote giver will receive a curation reward, (very important for redfish), and the receiver of that vote will get a payout. A win win all the way around.

At any rate I would like to thank you in advance for being willing to search out and support the people on steemit. I think you will find very many comments that are extremely well done. Sometimes the comments can outshine the post, but it was the post that brought out the comment. I will let you know, I try to read all the comments before posting, some of the post can take upwards of an hour and a half to two hours to read and then comment on, but those comments can make a person think.

Thanks for the amazing comment! :)

Thank you for the wallet reward, I am glad that @elsiekjay added me in her response. I really did enjoy your post and video.

Thank you! 👱

Hey!! Thanks so much! I have been grappling with whether to delegate or not delegate. Though it's super minimal, I have invested my own money into this platform, because I believe in it, and I think the potential is absolutely amazing!!

I'm an author and speaker, and I speak on mindset and marketing. We have a release of our book coming out in November, and we are excited because we are taking steem for pre-sales, and will continue to take it once it's released. Super exciting stuff! We love being a part of this community!

So, back to the delegation debate that I've been having in my own head. I like the idea of being able to vote on some of my close friends that I've made here on steem! I'm thinking I want to at least have a .04 or .05 cent vote. So, I think my new plan is to build up to that, and delegate out after that. :). Thanks so much for your insight on this topic matter!!

Amy Honey

That is an amazing idea! :)

Hey @phoneinf, I received a wallet transfer and wanted to say thank you, although I'm not exactly sure what it's for :)

I didn't get a chance to fully comment to you yesterday, but I wondered if you'd ever had a chance to check out @abh12345's Curation Leagues that he hosts weekly. Here is his latest post, but it's an ongoing contest of sorts which rewards consistent and genuine commenting.

I also manually curate for @asapers too and appreciate the time and energy it takes to do. It is something I find very rewarding as well, to see how much a person values the work we do. Our @asapers goal is a pay it forward one, where we feature unnoticed quality posts, of which there are plenty...after you sift through all the other stuff :)

Thanks for the comment and letting me know about that project! Well it was to reward for your time you spent commenting!

Ahhh now I get it; which explains the second deposit in my wallet too then :) Thank you so much for that!

Haha :) Yes exactly!

@phoneinf, I have to ask you (and not because I'm looking for more wallet surprises, so please don't :), but are you finding this endeavor worthwhile? I'd love to hear what you've noticed about it over the last few days, or have I been living under a rock and this has been going on for a while? :)

Hmm what endeavor do you mean? Hahaha 😃

hahaha gotcha!! 😎

No hahaha. I was actually curious what you meant? Since I didn't get it lol

I operate a manual curation service called @thundercurator. I noticed a while back that quality content was getting the exposure needed and retention on platform was suffering. I current curate about 150 articles a day and it has really impacted a lot of users. Im sure your mission will also change lives.

@thundercurator is a manual curation that I know takes up much of your time . I support your efforts in it and think its the bests . Thank you for your support it our community

Very welcome. There are a few of us that do it, we really want to see this community and content creators succeed.

That is awesome to hear!

I recevied a transfer from you on this reply. Not sure why.

Capitalism. I reward you for your time and attention! Thanks!

I have also reduced the delegation ratio. i was delegating out 80% and lol i am still a minnow. But now, so that i can reward people that engage with me and with the steemit platform in a positive way, I want to do a lot of human curation and engagement. Actually you might like what I am doing. am running an experiment here on steemit with the aim of improving retention. with the aid of steemit data i found 500+ accounts i wanted to contact personally ( finding it hard to get to all of them and still engage with my existing following and new and interesting posts like this one). I would love you to hop over and join in the discussion

https://steemit.com/steemit/@paulag/let-s-grow-steemit-together-direct-engagement-experiment-week-2

Steempay Steem Is The Free Paypal Of The Cryptocurrency Steemit World

Why? Because users can buy more for less as Steem curreny is virtually free money that anyone can earn on Steemit.com.
Moreover, sellers can sell more to buyers that have easy Steem money.
Unlike Paypal customers who pay with hard-earned fiat currency, Steempay customers can very easily earn more Steem currency by simply creating more quality blogs on Steemit.

Steempay is a win-win proposition for Steem buyers and sellers alike.
SteemPay is the world's easiest digital currency wallet.

With the SteemPay wallet, your passwords and money remain in your control at all times. Your keys never leave the device and the code is 100% open source.

Thank you for posting about this subject @phoneinf.

Well said.

The three 'C's of Steemit are......Compose, Curate, and Comment.

It makes a difference when it is done by the individual indeed.

All the best.

Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94