steemit is mooning, not just the price!

in #steemit7 years ago

p-trail.png

Hello everyone! I am seeing a major increase in the number of posts every day and it's a great sign that steemit truly is "mooning." I'm not talking about the price so much as the size of the community and the involvement. I would encourage everyone to welcome new members and to help make their experience here a good one. We all benefit when we grow together! It's important to keep in mind that new users are easily discouraged by harsh criticism and flagging for unknown reasons. I suggest if you flag a new user that you leave a comment explaining why what they did deserves a flag as that is the biggest complaint I see from new users. Keep in mind that not everyone takes the time to read the guidelines before posting and may not understand tagging properly. steemit is unique and unlike other blogging platforms so we should do our best to encourage new users to stick with it and avoid scaring them away!

Sort:  

Good write up! And a good reminder for me to visit the "Introducemyself" area, it's been a while since I welcomed new members. I'm going to try to make some time for that soon!

Honestly it's one of the areas that I am weakest at personally. I am following so many people already that I sometimes struggle with time to go searching for new members. I do my best to dedicate time to this account to do exactly that!

Right, me too!

Great post :)

Great words. Like how it just reflected you!

I like your idea of the philosophy trail, good one mate.

But how can I truly know what must be flagged? Because a content might be offensive for some but not for me and viceversa

I would look at like this: Am I intentionally trying to be negative? Am I harassing or attacking someone just because they disagree with me? Did I read the guidelines for acceptable reasons to flag someone? Ultimately it's up to you what you decide to do, I just mention flagging mainly because I have had many new users complain about it in the past and I get it. If you get flagged you want to know why. That's why I asked if anyone does flag something to please express in the comments WHY they are flagging so it should help make things more clear to whoever is being flagged. It's like some guy driving by and scratching your car or throwing a brick through your window and you haven't even met them before. It's just better if there's a clear reason.

This was honestly helpful , thank you very much

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of May 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $29.42 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

From a newbie, thanks for the advice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37