Success Requires Perseverance: Having a Fire in Your Belly, and Ice in Your Mind

in #steemit6 years ago

Most of us have some form of long term goal, dream, or aspiration.

For me, it's creating a better life for myself and my family. It's a financial goal, but also one that will allow us to travel and to see as many of the amazing things the world has to offer as possible.

Perhaps you share the same goal as me. Or maybe you dream of building a successful business, helping those in need, or moving to a more desirable location.

The possibilities are endless, but if you're like me, you'll be able to picture that goal in your mind perfectly. You've likely thought about it for a long time. I know I have.

Forged-in-Fire-and-Ice-spillwords.jpg

A Fire in the Belly

When we think about the things we want the most, there tends to be a major driving force behind it. Imagining what it would be like to finally achieve that goal lights a fire inside of us.

That fire in the belly can be a wonderful thing. It's the thing that makes you get up early and go to bed late, just to focus on taking those extra steps towards your goal.

It's the force behind the actions that shape our future. We yearn for it so much that we put everything we have into this desire.

Yet, if that fire spreads into other places, it can also be the downfall of our progress.

Let's look at an example. I am from England. Here, our major sport is football. If you're American, you'll know this sport as soccer, but let's not get into that right now!

The most passionate games of football involve local teams. These games are known as derbies. For example, two teams within a single city. It's usually a bitter rivalry, and supporters are desperate to see their team win. It provides an opportunity for bragging rights until the next game.

This kind of passion is infectious. The supporters feel it, the management feel it, and the players feel it. There's something different about these games. You want to win so badly that you find that extra 10% that you wouldn't give in any other game.

When the game starts, there tends to be some pretty heavy tackling involved. It's great. The passion to win is evident, and both teams are giving their all.

But what happens if the fire in your belly spreads? Well, you can do something stupid in the heat of the moment. Perhaps you behave irrationally, make a bad tackle, and find yourself sent off. That puts your team at a huge disadvantage, and you'll likely lose the game entirely.

You see, passion and drive when controlled are a wonderful thing. If you can harness it to your benefit, it could help you to score a vital goal, or make a game changing play. Let it spread, and you can lose everything you tried to achieve.

Ice in the Mind

I'm not sure if this is a worldwide saying, but where I'm from, we're often told to keep a 'cool head'.

This generally means that you're remaining aware of what's going on. You think rationally, and don't overreact to negative situations. It's the type of mindset that can stop you from getting involved in a silly argument, or getting into a fight, losing your temper etc.

Having ice on the mind at the same time as fire in the belly is a perfect combination. The fire keeps your passion and drive at high levels, but the ice helps you to make rational decisions at the same time.

A combination of fire in the belly and ice in the mind is required for success in all aspects in your life. Whether that be playing in an important sports game, starting a business, or investing in cryptocurrency.

And that's what I want to finish on today.

Fire and Ice in the Crypto World

People invest in cryptocurrency for a variety of reasons. For me, I started out with financial goals for the future of my family. I now also believe in the tech and want to see some of these world-changing projects succeed.

The fire in my belly led me to invest my first cash into crypto. It made me check my portfolio on a daily basis and trade for different coins, research new projects, look for that investment opportunity that would catapult me toward my dreams.

That same fire needs to be controlled, however. As we all know, crypto markets are volatile. They can move to all time highs one hour, and then dip significantly the next.

Too much fire with too little ice can lead to poor decisions. If you're running on desire alone, it can be easy to overreact to occurrences in the market.

An example of this could be buying in to a project at an all time high, and then panic selling due to a dip, causing you to be in a worse position than when you started. That same fire can lead to you then buying in at another high as the market recovers. You get the point.

Perhaps the fire leads you to buy in due to the fear of missing out, or giving in to FUD articles posted on social media with little to no substance.

This is when you need the ice in your mind. Although your desire to succeed is burning away in your belly, the ice in your mind allows you to think rationally about your decisions.

Perhaps you don't need to FOMO, or give in to FUD. Perhaps a market dip is fine, and there's no need to panic.

I am relaxing right now as the markets are dipping significantly because the ice in my mind is allowing me to think about months and years down the line. I am certain that the markets will bounce back, and that my investments were made rationally. In that case, I can tell the fire in my belly to relax a little. I can use that passion elsewhere.

I hope this post has been of some use to you, or even a little interesting if you're already finding a balance of fire and ice in your life. I'd love to hear about your experiences in this regard in the comment section below.

DQmadTLum9Npk6RMmzMVJnwBSvk5u6tTvc28ZEVy9Bord6L_1680x8400.png

DQmWpisRXDF56mV3DgzzPUxb3R2ozseR48YVr2YKtwtrBcV.gif

Sort:  

I believe this translates everywhere. Fire in your belly but maintain a cool head.
Without passion, there is no driving force. But if you have a strong driving force but you can't keep your cool enough to see past the red haze, you are just going to fall into pothole after pothole.
Calm to the point of blase and life is just gonna pass you by.

Absolutely. Keeping a balance between the two is the best option for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3378.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51