As a Newbie in Steemit, We should stop begging for upvotes and focus on building our reputation

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-1074920.jpeg

Should we focus on getting more upvotes or should we just work hard to build our reputation??-if you are trying to figure out the answer to this question then you should definitely read this blog.

I kept pondering about how to be more successful ever since I joined in Steemit. I did a lot of research to find out the secret formula of Steemit success. I tried to figure out if there is a way to make it happen that I woke up in the morning and saw my blogs are getting hundreds of comments and upvotes .

After trying out for a week, I came to realize that there is no way to become a successful blogger overnight. To be successful I must create a huge number audience for my blogs. But how to create audience within a short time? what should I do? Should I go begging for upvotes, should I offer follow for follow or should I buy more steem power to promote my blogs?

Begging for upvotes doesn’t make us look very good

pexels-photo-1040837.jpeg

No, I shouldn’t beg for Upvotes anymore. I have already done that when I wrote my first post but it wasn’t very effective for me. I only received 10 upvotes from people. Although, I don’t care much about votes, still I asked for it just to make me look more humble.

If you are someone who is still begging for upvotes then you should stop it immediately too. It doesn’t add any value to our reputation in here. People also don’t look at us in a respectful way when we do that.

Then what should we do to climb up

Well, I don’t know whether you would like it or not but I have decided to work hard to go ahead in this platform. From now on, I will try to create quality contents that people will love to read. I don’t want ask people to follow me but I want people to follow me. So the only way I can make people follow me is when they will love to read my contents. I want them to feel like:

“Well,that’s a good writer

I think I should follow him

and recommend my friends to follow him too”

Taking the shortcut road to success never takes you very further

pexels-photo-669987.jpeg

I have tried to be successful before many times following a shortcut way. But I have failed every time. It is because success never comes without hard work and even if you get to be successful for a while, it won’t last very long. I have seen it in my real life. I have seen people to be successful in the wrong way but that didn’t last very long.

Who Am I to say this stuff?

pexels-photo-688668.jpeg

I think by this time you might be think that “who is this guy to tell us about these stuffs, he isn’t any different from us either”. Well, in that case, I absolutely agree with you. But what you should know is that I am not speaking this from my own ideas, it is something that I have learned when I was looking for a way to keep my post trending for long time.

I have found a great post when I was searching for some blogs or articles that could help me by making my blogs more popular to people. Here is a post I have found that is written by a great author. In this post he describes everything that people like you and I usually want to know. After reading this post you will be able to know many things that we don’t usually care about. You will learn what you have been doing wrong all this time. I strongly suggest you to read this post by /@hitmeasap .

This guy has been in the Steemit way longer than you and I. He is here for more than 2 years. So anyway here is the post:

How to Reach the Trending Pages. [Posting 101]

Of course, there are a few exceptions

So far, I have told you that you won’t see anyone getting successful within a short time. But you may also find a few people who just joined in the Steemit 2 months ago but already earning more than $100 per post. Yes, that happens. There are people like that who get paid for writing any kinds of nonsense.

But then how they became successful

pexels-photo-636246.jpeg

Well, I have already told you that there is no way to become successful without working hard. This saying applies to these people too, but in their case it is their friends and folks who have done the hard work for them. They have got the support from their friends as soon as they have joined in here. So they didn’t need to write great contents for votes.

For example, if I already had 200 friends who write for Steemit. Then I don’t need to worry much about my success. Although, it may sounds good to you, still it can be categorized more or less as cheating.
But what to do? As we don’t have anyone to back us up, we have to work for ourselves.

Is it possible to be successful on our own?

pexels-photo-760728.jpeg

Well, it is possible if you are consistent at your performance. Remember the old saying:

Slow and Steady Wins the Race

I know you can’t be convinced this easily that I why I have decided to give you a simple math lesson. But before that think what makes a Youtube channel successful, its viewers and subscribers right??
Let’s do the Math Now

Now try to apply the concept of Youtube here. Let’s say today you have 150 followers and you get 2-3 upvotes per post and sometimes even less. But what if you had 10,000 followers, would you get the same amount of vote.

No, of course not. It is because having 10,000 follower means that your post appears on the feed of 10,000 people. Now among those 10,000 people if only 1% vote for you, then how many votes you are supposed to get.
You are supposed to get 100 votes at least. This is just an estimated calculation not the exact one. So I think if you become able to build 10,000 followers then you will get much more than 100 votes.

In the conclusion

So after considering all these things, I think you should stop begging for votes. It is because begging for votes won’t give us any benefit in the long run. We should try to focus on creating useful contents instead, so that people start following us. Once we become able to build our reputation, the success will come to us automatically.

cqueline Thompson.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82