SquareLink - Newbie Blog #8: Looking at some great Steem based apps.

in #steemit6 years ago

SquarLink Header

SquareLink Newbie Blog on Some of the Great Applications in the Steemit Ecosystem.

If your reading this, you already know about Steemit. But for some newcomers, you may not be aware of some of the other great applications that comprise the Steemit ecosystem. Some of these great apps may fit into your social media publishing strategy, and should be reviewed and given a try.

Dtube
https://d.tube/

This is the app that is going to replace YouTube and one that is driving users to the Steemit ecosystem. This app is still very much in active development and the features and functionality is constantly improving.

Of course the biggest feature of Dtube is that content creators to not have to worry about arbitrary or oppressive corporate policy decisions that limit views or demonetize content.

intropost

The interface is looking good and the amount of content is continuing to grow, however the competition levels for many genres of video content is still low enough to make this a very profitable place for many video creators.

dMania
https://dmania.lol/

dMania is Steemit's answer for 9GAG. On dMania users earn Steemit currency (Steem Power and Steem Dollars) by posting, commenting and upvoting their favorite memes, funny pictures and videos.

intropost

The site is easy to use, and is also in Beta, with new features and functionality coming. I looked for a phone app but I don't think one is ready yet, however they are working to make the app look well on mobile device web browsers.

Steepshot
https://alpha.steepshot.io/browse/hot

Steepshot is one of my favorites so far. It has a nice phone app and is easy to use and navigate. You can take Steemit with you in your pocket.

intropost

There are a lot of beautiful pictures on here, and I have posted some of my favorites as well. Honestly, I was surprised when a picture that took me 2 minutes to find and post, actually did better than a blog post I spent two hours researching and writing.

DSound
https://dsound.audio/#/feed

I have not yet tried DSound but it looks really cool. This is just what the name sounds like, users can post sounds they have created, songs, synth, special effects, ect. and get Steemit rewards by the usual means of votes and comments.

intropost

ChainBB
https://chainbb.com/forums

After spending a while pursuing this site, I already know I'm going to be trying my first post on ChainBB soon. One of the drawbacks to Steemit is that you work hard on writing a great post, and it ends up having a short life space as it is difficult to search the site. ChainBB lets conversations keep going, and equally important, lets people interested in the same topic have a place they know they can return again and again to find new content and to carry on existing conversation threads.

intropost

ChainBB is also in beta and probably is not the most current look and feel, but functionality was probably the more important place to spend development time.

Great New Apps in the Steemit Ecosystem

I'm sure there are more apps already working than I have discovered in my three weeks trying to learn everything about the Steemit ecosystem, there is just so much here.

Now, some apps will not succeed, but if I had to place bets, Dtube and Steepshots have a solid place and are making fast progress with good integration.

The other apps I looked at are doing well and making progress. If the devs teams can stay focused and keep making progress, then these will also find a permanent place.

Play around with these apps and let me know what you think. Also, let me know in the comments what apps I have missed that I should check out!

Until next time my friends,

@phaazer1 [SquareLink]

If you can Dream it, you can Steem it.

Please add any questions, comments, or other ideas below, I would love to hear from you.
Also, Your Up-votes are always appreciated if you appreciate the work! First comment gets an upvote as well.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 62868.73
ETH 3108.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50