You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why and how Steemit needs to improve (or face future competition that will come in to replace it)

in #steemit6 years ago

I actually think that one of the platform's greatest attractors is also the thing that's going to demotivate people. Giving money back to the people instead of shareholders is beyond awesome. But where on Facebook people write because they want to write (for whatever reason). On coming here with an expectation of making money, when they see that in fact the majority will make only cents what's the point. Thing is, the point is it's a great decentralised and democratic system. But the focus has been put onto money. And with this focus on the money I think it changes things in peoples' minds.

A double edged sword.

I imagine it's going to be the whales that bring people to the platform. Famous people with lots of followers seeing that they will make a lot of money here drawing their fans across. So in this sense the whale is essential.

As a side note. I've had this great post up all week but have not had time to look at it. Last night I finally got into it but could not finish my responses so left it for the morning. If I were on this platform and not getting rewarded by money I would have done that without question. Just come back to it later. But as there is money involved my thinking was I should get it done right away or not bother. As I could not do it right away there was a voice saying to work out how to do it and still get rewarded or not to bother. So the financial incentive was both motivating and demotivating me. And this is despite the fact that I would only be looking at a few cents if any!!!!

So I think expectation management is a huge issue that should be addressed. I have seen much advice about posting for the sake of the content not the money and I've seen many other posts/videos about "how I made x$ on my first post". The latter is going to draw people but then they will be disappointed when they discover that just as in life, most are only going to earn cents.

So I think that having the money as a "side" note of a much greater system is how this system will push aside FB.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50