Help Me Understand The Bot UpvotingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

When I heard about steemit I got so excited I couldn't sit still. I mean social media by the people for the people - that's a FB assassin right there.

However, help me out here. I have read some posts and what I'm seeing is bots and people posting/voting but only it seems for the sake of the vote/comment (read $). Like a huge communal reciprocal backrub. Not that I'm against people helping each other. And I of course would love for all the bots in the world to help me - I even upvoted my own post here. But the bots don't add to the conversation.

My question is, how is that beneficial to the platform and the greater vision? I get that it earns people rep/$ but in the bigger picture of things. In terms of sustainability? I ask because this genius project could be so much.

Enlighten me please.

Sort:  

Good post. Shame there’s no big answers. Have you seen anyone else asking this?

No answers but it is an hot topic of discussion. It's on peoples' minds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56784.71
ETH 2392.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27