Steemit, my home.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Thinking of what steemit means to me, reflexly, I typed my home. Now, I began to think. How come my home was what I typed? How come steemit feels like home to me......? Many more questions came trooping in...

PhotoGrid_1512575018372.jpg
Ignore my shiny face 😉

I am Okanlawon Oluwapelumi by name. I am a Nigerian and a Christian. Recently, I feel most people don't know me enough - the reason I'm trying to write posts that are not scientific a few times a week now. I just hope I am able to cope. I wrote an introductory post a few months ago but I think most people might not have seen it.

Let me do it again, this time in a little way. I'm a music lover, comic actor ( steemit has taken this), an online doctor, a pianist, drummer... let's just leave the dots because there's many more musical instruments to mention. I'm still a student though I'll like to keep my school private.

Steemit, my home.

First, I asked myself, what does the word "home" mean to me? My home is where I currently live, where I plan to live permanently, not really referring to the structure or building but the people in it - my family.

Steemit has been great for me. I don't really think I regret putting much effort, I only regret leaving at some point - why would I leave my home? I guess it was not much of a home then... On here, I've met a lot of people that have made this place feel like home to me. I recall attending the Steemit In Nigeria Conference, last year which I can really say has brought a turn around to my steemit career.

Just of recent, I've learnt to treat steemit better than the usual way I treated it. During my rumination, I found out the reason for the topic. Now, I try to do more of investing in the platform like transferring SBD or steem to steemians I feel need encouragement, I do more power-ups than withdrawal because of course, everyone invests in their homes not take from it all the time.

Also, I found out I spend most hours of my day on steemit. Where of course does a person spend most of his hours daily?? If not at home, it must be at work. It must be one of the two..

In contrast to people that might see steemit as a contest, I don't. Of course, I wouldn't be competing with anyone in my home because I own it. Although I do some contests, that doesn't make steemit a contest to me. I see a lot of people trying to be better than others and in their quest to be better they try to bring others down - a very bad idea. The best it can be is a challenge, I take steemit as a challenge, I try to put in my best and I also strive to be better by the day but not at the expense of others. Of course, just the same way you change an outdated TV set, or do you need to destroy your home theatre or chairs because you want to change your TV set? No, they all work together to give you comfort in your home.


My honest advice, We all are good together. Do your best, let others do theirs. Don't bring anybody down. Do to others steemians what you expect from them


The Journey

My journey so far on steemit has been wonderful, flooded with superb and wonderful people most of which I don't know in person. I really am happy with such great progress I've made since I joined.

Officially, I joined steemit on the 23rd day of July 2017 through @voski but didn't start blogging until August. I tried my best to make a few posts without any introduction 😢 - didn't know I had to do a proper introduction until after a few weeks. After that, I made a few posts again with about $0.09 altogether. This led to frustration and I backed out.

After a few weeks, @valchiz contacted me and said he noticed I had been off steemit. I was like, how did he know? He encouraged me to come back, step up my game, and he added me to @genesis-project. Thanks to him.

Yes, of course, @valchiz brought me which I still thank him for but he didn't keep me, @ehiboss did with his daily advice then, thank you, sir, 🙌. A lot of love for the few friends I got then that helped - people like @ememovic, and @samminator. If you ask for a list of friends now, you'll just get too tired to continue.

...and that was how the journey began. I started striving to get good and better payouts - the mind of a newbie. It took a lot of time to know I need to concentrate more on the value of what am posting.

In all, am grateful to everyone who has made my experience here wonderful. You are all wonderful people and I appreciate you all.


My advice to that newbie, don't back out. Everyone had a rough start, so try to encourage yourself and get yourself a mentor.


Adjustments

As to the adjustments steemit has brought to me, huh......? I think there's more than I can mention. But anyway, let me write out a few for you to see. So...... let's just go to the list.

  • The first, I wasn't much of a writer when I joined steemit. As a matter of fact, I didn't enjoy writing or typing. But you know, it's a different story now.

  • The second, I just liked to chat with friends before not anymore. I only have a little time to keep up with them now.

  • The third, something I have always longed for, the ability to do researches, find new stuff, read books, and update myself was long gone until I found steemit. Now, I have no choice - it's my way of life.

  • Hey, I was really lazy before I found steemit maybe because I had nothing really worth doing. This is long gone, I work my ass off now. Lose sleep sometimes...

  • I really don't want to make this the last but I have to. I was really a person who spends most of his time on the social media, liking, and commenting on people's posts here and there but where's the time now? Nowhere....


Thank you for coming around!!!


Proud Member of @steemstem

Join us on the channel in steemit.chat and rub minds with other science geeks.

Proud Member of @genesis-project

You want to join genesis-project, contact @ehiboss, @samminator, @ememovic, or @camzy, and please ignore the scammers, you don't have to pay to join @genesis-project.

Proud Member of @air-clinic

Join air-clinic's discord server. Medical practitioners needed. Anybody from any field is free to join, we do daily lectures and consultation services are available.

Contact @nairadaddy for more info

Sort:  

Welcome back son. Now i am sure he is a human...

What??! I'm dead...😧

Finally the our own mini doctor decided to do something outside science
Glad to hear your own part of the steemit story 😃

God bless you for this. I would have bet he was an alien.....

Nice story bro..

Fatherly!!!

Am greatly inspired, I guess I shud keep trying too

Welcome back pearlumie. We share the same story I open steem last year but didn't post anything until this year. Glad to have you share your experience with us and the advice of course a place like steemit is worth calling a home. Hope to be like you some day

Steemit is a very nice home to be,amazing post

Good good...

wow amazing @pearlumie, we have to never back out keep improving and striving everyday of our life.

Welcome back pearlumie. We share the same story I open steem last year but didn't post anything until this year. Glad to have you share your experience with us and the advice of course a place like steemit is worth calling a home. Hope to be like you some day

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94