My Facebook & Steemit post side by side two (2) days ago. SURPRISE .... SURPRISE ......

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

My Facebook and Steemit experiment:

Two days ago @ around 8:00 am EST I posted an article about my little sweetheart named Jalyn. She made "Fall off the bone ribs" and we documented her work with a video.

I then posted it on Steemit and Facebook at the exact same time.

  • Steemit: I had 68 followers at the time of the post.
  • Facebook: I had 224 friends, family, coworkers at the time of the post.

Here is a snapshot of both posts:

Steemit Post:FaceBook Post:
Steemit:FaceBook
44 Up Votes7 Likes
4 Comments5 Comments
No Shares1 Share
$84.66Zero - Cheap Bastards

Summary:

I thought it would be compelling to see how many votes I received with both Social Media Sites. I found it very interesting that the number of Up Votes from the Steemit Community was more than 6 times the number of Likes from my Facebook Friends. The reason I found this interesting is because I have 224 Facebook friends and I have known them a lot longer than my new friends at Steemit.

Another interesting point is the fact I have been on Facebook for over 6 years. I have been on Steemit for 2 months. Looks like my Steemit Friends are more interested in what I have to share.....

It will also be interesting when I show my Facebook friends this little experiment.
Especially the part about the $84.66

Action:

Stop going to Facebook!

#steemit #facebook #life #craigrant

Sort:  

just shared your post as a great advertisement for steemit in my facebook account !! the argument shown here is undeniable !! we should all be doing the same now i think !! lets kill this bad beast Fukbook !! well done great job !! ; - )

Thank you @gomeravibz.. I think Steemit will continue to grow and bring an entire new generation. :)

All I do now is promote my posts and say happy birthday to people on fb. I don't even write their whole name on here. It's like a dirty word to me now. If it wasn't for promoting myself, I would just delete my fb page.

yeah... lol. Facebook is only news and so many ads.

I deleted my Facebook account years ago now, but I have seen the same thing with SteemIt vs. Twitter. I get far more engagement on SteemIt regardless of the apparently declining metrics (even when my posts don't take off at all financially), and at this point after only a couple of months I have more followers on SteemIt than I did after years on Twitter.

I am quite surprised too that your post generated more interest at Steemit than at Facebook. This just goes to show the potential of Steemit. Despite the fall of price of Steem and Steem Dollars, I truly believe that Steemit is the preferred social media of the future

Shared your opinion that Steemit has so much potential to grow. Nowadays I hardly spend anytime on Facebook.

Thanks awesome... :)

I agree with you @positivesteem. I think this has a lot of room to grow. Thanks for your comment.

I hope more people will join Steemit.

The Steemit community may be more active. Also there are probably more voting bots here due to the financial incentive.

Thanks @thecryptofiend... I think your are right, there are more voting bots , I hope they are helping Steemit and not hurting. :)

Wow , I had a feeling this was the case.

What i think is that fb was just a step ...to help us to get here.

the proof is in the pudding and with this great idea , you have shown us all which pudding tastes the best !! Steem On !!

I turned 50 Thursday, I got 188 bday wishes on FB, and 0 on Steemit. Not that I care, but it is about community.

That's all I get on Facebook .... Oh and happy anniversary.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61199.00
ETH 2393.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56