VOICE OF THE HEART

in #steemit6 years ago


I wake up and see that more and more the system is made to crush me. 


I sleep at night and dream of a wonderful life with hope of a better future yet when the sun rise; it's like my dreams are mere  thoughts and my hope crushed. 

Every night I shake in the cold in the streets on bare ground I sleep, again and again I pray for a better future yet from one spot to another am I casted and chased .

When will my dreams come true? 

When will my hope be achieved? 

Have you forgotten your promises when you emerged? 

Where is the care for children on the streets?

Where is the hospitals, the good roads,  the water,  the electricity that you promised? 

Where is my pride as a citizen? 

I wallow in shame before my mates because I can not boast of infrastructure, yet lots of projects I endorse. I speak of unity in diversity yet I choose only those who would favour me. When will I be free of corruption? When will I say it's time for this insolence to stop? Do I wait till I can no longer stand? Do I stay and  watch till my pride is taken away? 

What will I tell my children? What will the my unborn say about me?  Would they have to suffer too like me? Would they come to experience and face my predicament? When will I shun all form of bribery and corruption? 

"I PLEDGE TO MY COUNTRY NIGERIA TO BE FAITHFUL, LOYAL AND HONEST" am I faithful, am I honest, am I loyal to the course I set out for? 

You say to me "choose me and I will make sure this and that is provided" yet when you man the post you ignore me.  My strength is failing,  my heart is broken and you care not. 

I sleep with fear of the unknown, I worry for my life, people harass me on daily basis yet you do nothing.  I am taken away against my will to perform acts that  you forbid yet you pay no attention to my cry. 


Listen not with you ears but with your Heart and you will hear our cry. Come to our aid,  save us, gives us what you promised, for you are to serve us and not yourself .

What is a country if not it's people? Arise oh once Gaint of Africa, reclaim your glory.  Let the days of promises be over and the days of fulfilment take over.  Shun all form of injustice, bribery and corruption. 

Listen to us for we are your future! 

Arise NIGERIA. 



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42