How google is monopolizing the dissemination of information and how It makes platforms like steemit So Important!

in #steemit8 years ago

I find it quite interesting that YouTube deems it appropriate to demonetize videos based on the content within the video's! It seems reasonable to me that if someone is putting allot of time and effort into producing content that they plan to monetize through a platform, that they would want to produce content that won't be denied monetization. In other words by controlling the monetization approval for video's they have gained control over what kind of content is going to be produced. It is nothing short of a very sneaky form of soft-censorship.

Steemit-big.jpg

It is terrible to think that someone who would post a video with relevant or important information would choose not to do so, and instead upload content that will allow monetization! I use Adobe Creative Cloud to produce all of my video content, which isn't cheap. If I can't make at least the little bit of money that would help pay for my software and hardware not to mention the incredible amount of time and energy that goes into producing content, than there is very little motivation to do so.

This is nothing short of censorship!
and I find it disturbing!

Sort:  

I totally agree! Projects like Steemit are a true revolution for the freedom of speech.

Thanks! @bart2305 followed. I really do worry about the kind of trouble we could be in if google is the first to create powerful A.I. I have no doubt that they would use it to analyze content for filtering.

Resteemed! We have the power to make Steemit great!

resteemd followed

Yahoo for Steemit! Censorship free community social media, and it has real incentives too...STEEM. Lets kill off the old style social media owned by greedy corporations getting rich off our backs. Great post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63348.66
ETH 2668.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78