Visualizing STEEMIT Internal Market 17 March ‘18 – BlockChain Business Intelligence

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemits internal market is used on a daily basis.  For many the transaction is simple.  SBD earned as post rewards is converted to STEEM.  However for some, the internal market is used to trade SBD/STEEM on a daily basis. 

One of the benefits of using the internal market is zero cost.  Unlike other exchanges, there is no cost in using Steemits internal market to trade.  But there is also some drawbacks.  One of which is the lack of visualisations.  The Steemit internal market only shows Market Depth, open orders and a limited view of recent closed orders.

To address this issue of lack of visualisations and to aid those that wish to trade SBD/STEEM on the internal market, I have devised some visualisation which I intend on sharing daily.

Over time I hope to improve on this report by adding more analytics that will aid in your decision making.

Snapshot taken 14:45 AM GMT 17 Mar. 18.  Time shown GMT

You can view an interactive version of this report here

https://app.powerbi.com/view?r=eyJrIjoiZTRkOTE5MjYtOWY2OC00ODYyLThjM2YtN2ZhNDgwNTFlYjI3IiwidCI6ImRhZWNkYWM0LTYyNjgtNGQyNy05Nzk0LWFiMjA0ODdkZTgyNyIsImMiOjh9

1 Jan ‘18 to Present – Daily Spread, Average Daily Exch. Rate, Daily SBD Volume


Yesterday 15 min Average Exch. Rate and SBD Volume

 

Today 15 min Average Exch. Rate and SBD Volume

 


1 Jan ‘18 to Present –Average 1h Exch. Rate


10 Day– Average 1h Exch. Rate

 


Yesterday – Average 1h Exch. Rate

 


Today – Average 1h Exch. Rate

 




Sort:  

Top effort, as always :)
I have a theory that price rises lead to an increase in posting, making it more difficult to keep up with one's feed, culminating in a cull of one's follow list.
Has anyone looked for a correlation between price rises and unfollow events?

price rise v's unfollows?

Yes. I don't know how easy it would be to get the data, but I imagine there'd be a strong correlation.
I noticed today, that it took me 30 mins to catch up on my feed, when it usually takes an hour.
The authors I follow are posting less frequently, assumedly due to the price decrease.
If the opposite is true, and they post more frequently to net larger rewards when the price increases, it'll take me much longer to read through my feed, and I'll be tempted to unfollow some of the lower quality authors.

That's a good point actually. I have been unfollowing people of late to get my feed under control.

On the flip side though, I actually unfollow the sort who post less when the price decreases. I just don't like that attitude

so we have both sides then...well now I am curious to see what the data says so i will take a look :-) . Hope the database holds the unfollow dates

I hope it does too. I suspect there will be far more unfollows of lesser rep authors but I know from talking to others that I am not alone in being a little contemptuous of the ones that post like mad when times are good and then beat it when they arent.

And I know that someone reading this could very well think But its a blogging platform to make money on which in itself is true but its about the potential and I just see the get rich quickers as the leeches on a dying beast little caring that the more they suck the quicker it dies.

Goodness me, not that I think steemit is dying by any means but I hope you know what I mean!

Here's the problem with that particular position:

As a creator, when values are high, I know that I can put out content which doesn't require as much of the time investment and feel like I'm getting rewarded sufficiently to keep me in the game. When values drop, I focus on more aggressive long-term content which requires longer to make, more formatting, and could be seen as in general higher quality – because I have other things to do in my life and the sweet, sweet hit of valuation is one of those things that help drive my prioritization.

For a creator, you have to understand that there is a balance between spending the time to give you stuff for free, which we can do anywhere and arguably is better done on platforms like Facebook or Medium because of simple network effects, and spending the time to give you stuff on Steemit, where eyes-on are limited but in exchange we, theoretically, receive some actual compensation.

So, from my perspective at least, I'm a little contemptuous of the followers who want to jump on when flows are high and they can get as much curation from multiple voting opportunities as possible, and then slither away when I have to reprioritize what I'm spending my time on, and providing higher quality content less frequently.

You would be perfectly in order to suggest that Steemit is dying, because it is a reasonably arguable position to take. Whether or not the approaches to cryptocurrency architectures from a regulatory point of view make platforms like Steemit impossible to sustain is an open question. I feel like I could argue either way, at this point.

I maintain that you should do with your funds, attention, and votes exactly as you please. However, when you end up working aggressively against the content that you otherwise like and choose not to reward it in favor of content which you like less but publishes at a pace that you find morally preferable – well, that's how you get more stuff you don't really want and less stuff that's good, what you want, but from creators who are making deliberate choices about the one thing that is absolutely inflexible: their time.

Oddly your response seems to be written from the perspective that I am a passive consumer of content.

Oh no, that is far from correct. If anything I am an avid producer of content and I produce it daily regardless of the conditions.

Not for me throwing out quick and easy content to catch the high tide then "spending more time" on posts when conditions are less favourable. I produce quality content regardless of the conditions

Say what you like. You have your opinion and I have mine but it has not served me ill so far dropping the get rich quick mob who just want to reap whilst the going is good.

So there is no problem with this particular position.

And I never slither :O)

Dear sis @paulag. Introduce, my name is Muslem (@doktormuslem), I am from Aceh or Indonesia conuntry. I once installed to learn microroft power BI, because want to try to analyze distribution of steemit platform for aceh. but I failed. I've also watched your youtube channel.
So, can you show me how.
before I apologize if it has disturbed your time.
Thank you very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98