You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Generating Passive Income On SteemIt... Easy?? Or Not....???

in #steemit6 years ago

I don't make any passive income from steemit. everything I get, I work for. a lot of my posts are data posts that do well on utopian, but i could spend days on a data post. I don't lease out my sp in any form. I give free delegation and keep enough that my vote has some value. so by giving away delegation for free, it actually costs me in what I could earn on curation( which is not that much anyway)

I do, or well I did have a passive income. I have been a top selling Udemy instructor for a long time, but spent a few years building up to that status. However over the last 12 month I have been spending my time on steemit and last month lost my 'best selling' title and 80% of my revenue. So really there is no such thing as passive income because you still have to do work to get there and stay there.

My thoughs on the option you put forward, well to be honest I dont think about doing any of those things. I feel more positive about steemit now than ever before (although my earnings are well down here too) and I believe you, and many more like you are making what will be the new core of steemit.

You are doing awesome work. Keep it up.

Sort:  

Thanks for taking the time to reply, @paulag.
Part of the reason that I started thinking like that is somewhat the same as what you say.
Up.until 2 years ago, I was a very busy bee in the world of internet marketing. My online biz earned me good money for over 15 years.
Two years ago, I got interested into crypto, and since I was so sick and tired of all the repitituve tasks of an IM'er, I quit, and threw myself in the crypto world.

A big part of my biz was automated, so even though I didn't pay any attention to that biz anymore, the sales kept coming in. But a lot happens in 2 years time, and unfortunately I lost my main website, so the money came in less oftën. And about two months ago, it all stopped.

Now I've invested quite some money in Steem, while these are risky times. I had never given these SteemIt passive income streams a lot of thought, but now it feels a little like I need to make sure that I don't lose too much of the money I invested, even if the price will drop lower. That's exactly whën all the doubting started again lol

thats really interesting. I was not aware you were involved in internet marketing. is the website easybitcoinearnings? or do you have another few too?

Thinking out loud, and no offence meant to anyone, but internet marketing skills is something many authors here on steemit lack and steemit inc too. Im wondering how you could use these skills to help steemit.

When I started my online teaching buisness, after I learned production skills and instructional design and had courses online that no one was visiting or buying, i then had to learn internet marketing skills. When Udemy launched, many instructors were like me and had no internet marketing skills, so these type of courses done very well for those of us that really wanted to make a go of teaching online.
My point being, if people want to do well on steemit, they should grow their following off steemit too and learn how to bring traffic to their blogs and maybe there is something there you could work with.
Just thinking out loud!

You are completely right about that.
These last couple of days I've been scribbling down some ideas for a couple more posts that could help people reach a broader audience. Things like crossposting and stuff.

A couple of months ago, I already created a post in which i explained how people could set up an automated 'link wheel' using IFTTT that automatically shared there new SteemIt post with a good number of other social networks.

This process has become somewhat more difficult since Streemian isn't providing a decent rSS feed anymore.

One of the things that crossed my mind was creating a steemgig in which I'd do it for them.

Also, if STINC would have (or had have) a decent marketing team, the site would probably have a lot more name-fame (for the right reasons), and less people would drop out.

It's a mistake you see many people and organisations make: there is a development team, but most of the time they don't have a clue about how to market their products. And then they are surprised they fail.
I see it as a team effort: one can't go without the other.
I hope the SMT projects will have thought about this, because if they ever want to attract people from outside steemit, they'd better havd a real good marketing team working together with the developers...

@simplymike is doing amazing work! Couldn't agree more. Your comment shed a little more light @paulag. Hopefully the new core will be more community minded than bot business based driven

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64834.92
ETH 2540.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67