You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Earn higher Curation Rewards

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

This is excellent information @xervantes. :c)

One thing that I'd suggest you become aware of, if not already so, is the 30-minute rule. Up-votes placed on posts that are less than 30 minutes old will revert a portion of one's rewards back to the poster. :c)

So up-voting a 15 minute old post redirects around half of your rewards to the original poster.

Exception - if somebody up-votes him or herself (for obvious reasons). 9_9

another consideration is that the person who up-votes first has more weight in rewards than the second, etc.

Otherwise very well stated. :c)

Sort:  

Thank you, I wasn't sure if this rule still applied after HF19. Thanks for clearing this up for me.

Thanks, so are you saying you have to wait half an hour before upvoting?

You don't have to - but if its a poorly known author who hardly gets any up-votes then you might want to push it closer to 30 minutes.

Some people get dozens of up-votes within that period of time. They likely don't 'need' your upvote - but if you do decide upon an up-vote then aiming for the 15 minute mark or beyond might be optimal. Half the curation reward still goes back to the author but this may balance out against getting in on votes after quite a few more others.

OK how do you decide what posts or comments to upvote?

I wouldn't say that I have a solid strategy (once I eventually get a slider such would be more do-able) - but I tend to vote on good content with few upvotes.

As for comments - I mostly up-vote responses on my posts - if they aren't clearly just vote-hunting one-liners.

I do the same, is it working for you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67749.41
ETH 3262.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64