You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Whales are Prevented from Curating - views on vote weighting

in #steemit7 years ago

I must admit that I've gone through this several times.

At times I did wonder if this topic was more to do with steemit's vote system or the ups and downs of democracy - the back-and-forth did seem to straddle that line a bit.

Throughout, good points are made - and while I have been leaning towards SP as primary factor to weighting a vote - reflecting upon these points has had me thinking - and pondering alternatives.

Thank you again for pointing me to this thread. Its very well-made and is an excellent example of a reply that deserves to be a post.

Sort:  

I hope your agile mind is better able to conceive of acceptable alternatives than mine.

Essentially, I default to principle. As curation is the subjective valuation of content, and I feel it is elitist to consider one opinion of greater value than another, I reckon VP should be equal. Now, I qualify that by further considering that reputation is community vetting. The higher reputation one has, the more confidence in one's opinion the community has expressed - theoretically. In practice, reputation is more a function of time on platform, even more so than SP, as one cannot just pay money for more reputation.

I have not essayed to articulate a better reputation system, except to staunchly advocate that self votes not affect reputation, particularly not positively. I could probably be convinced to accept self upvotes lowering one's own reputation, as a means of discouraging self voting, and separating out folks more concerned about cash than reputation, but prefer neither self voting potential, nor self-affected reputation.

As I have made no headway in my campaign to either have egalitarian VP, or reputation weighted VP, there seemed no point in considering tweaking reputation, anyway. Perhaps I have put the cart before the horse in that regard, however. I gladly allow better minds than mine to take up the gauntlet, so that I might support such better options as they devise.

I confess that I may not be capable of doing more than that.

Particularly not today. I am reeling from family events beyond my comprehension.

I look forward to reading the fruits of your cogitation on the matter.

I am firstly sorry to hear that things are not well with you and/or yours. :c|

Such tend to be the most trying of times, and I do hope that you will pull through.

I concur with much of what you have said here - and my thoughts were gravitating along the same lines. Such has not crystallized and It will be interesting to see how I incorporate this new information in subsequent suggestion posts.

Take care.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62684.33
ETH 2456.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66