You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mining Steemit With a Teaspoon

in #steemit7 years ago

Thank you for this.

Illustrating the diminishing returns on votes is something that I like to explain to new members - back when I was greeting them to make my comments quotas. :cP Many users found it useful though so I'd not be 'terribly' against the idea of a similar 'helpful' bot in future.

As you mention - abuse is rife however - and self-voting does nobody any favours.

Sort:  

Thanks. Although your first issue can also be resolved with a more informative dashboard.

At the moment, self-voting favours the self-voter. The data shows that this is rife and a planned strategy.

BTW a few resteems would help the discussion! This is not aimed at @pathforger but to everyone. Thanks in advance!

Absolutely. The user interface of Steemit requires a better User Interface. It would be nice if a mouse-over of the up-vote button even shows the amount of voting power reduced (and how long it'll take to regenerate for that one up-vote).

On big concern that I have about self-upvoting is that it abuses the reward pool of the post. If the first up-vote is supposed to get so-and-so amount and the first up-vote is by the poster him or herself then they may be putting some reward towards the post - but they are also stealing reward from the 2nd up-vote who would have been first.

In my opinion a simple mechanism here would be to tweak the 30 minute rule. If the up-voter is the author then a % of the upvote goes directly to the curation reward pool rather than the author him or herself. I feel that it needs more teeth though.

Ultimately we live in a situation where those with cheap content who up-vote themselves and/ or buy votes from others will almost invariably get ahead of those who post good content.

None of these measures have a 'backfire' mechanism to discourage undeserved self/ bot up-votes.

If there were then things would be more interesting.

P.S. I try to go easy on the resteems because Steemit's user interface fails to set posts apart from resteems - and so my posts would quickly get buried if I resteemed half of what I wanted to. ;cP I will resteem this though.

Thank you, and true about resteems - as part of one of my projects I find myself resteeming far more than I used to and my own articles get buried quickly.

A self-vote on a post does not count towards curation rewards. Look at any article on steemdb.com (just replace the "steemit" with "steemdb" in the URL) and all self-votes have a Weight of zero - that Weight is a measure of curation rewards for that post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63013.55
ETH 2460.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64