You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Editing Posts After Posting!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

So, after 30 days of experience I can relay a few things:

  1. you only have until payout to fix any typos (7 days from the original time of posting).
  2. you cannot insert extra pictures after posting through the regular link underneath the text field. You CAN however insert pictures through html, you can also swap html addresses in the post, and swap pictures out. this will even update in people's newsfeeds, so you could actually swap the thumbnail that way if - in the end after posting - you are not quite happy with what you chose originally.
  3. Editing posts costs you bandwidth. So it's wise to take care when editing, and correct as many mistakes at once as you can, instead of updating one fixed mistake at a time.

So far nobody has had an issue with me fixing typos and stuff. I would not try to add whole paragraphs after posting, it should be the final text when posting to steemit. After all - people voted on it, and if you change the ideas within your post LATER, it might come off as a little dishonest.

That said, I always welcome when people go over their text a few extra times and take out all the typos they can find. Seems much more professional, and readers will be able to tell that you put great efforts into your post when there aren't many hang-ups and typos, which will ultimately rewarded by quality-lovers.

Good luck <3

Sort:  

Thank you for this! Especially your last comment. I made my intro post before learning about markdown formatting. It was fine the way it was, but – having learned how much better it could be, I simply couldn't stop myself from editing a few more times today – simply to beautify it. Yet I noticed that the estimated value of my post (though embarrassingly minimal) dropped by $.1 after each, additional edit. It wasn't until the 3rd time that I realized what was happening. Now I know! I'll certainly be more discerning and careful in future. It'll be hard for the crazy perfectionist that I am, but I've gotta try! • Here's the post, if you're curious: https://steemit.com/photography/@zipplyo/hello-fellow-steemians

I am curious, perfectionists are all insane (and I am one of them).
As far as I understand it, the number of edits has little to do with post payouts. The payouts declined in the last months due to the falling price of Steem.

so far I have not had seen any downside to editing posts, other than using up bandwidth, which you only have a limited supply of per day. So try to make less but larger edits at once.

Where is the edit tab for up to 7 days?

@healthchain
it is right underneath your published article, center right - right next to where the "reply" button is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57257.58
ETH 2345.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40