Master of the Wind! @papilloncharity

in #steemit7 years ago

A speedy hunter of note! These little Falcons have great speed and need I say that their vision is par excellance!

My ears have now become used to his call and every time that he visits, I rush outside with my camera in my hand.
His visits are very irregular, as he covers a huge area of open grasslands, hills and farms.
But oh boy, is this guy an excellent hunter, he hovers and drops into a dive in an instant.
I have taken about 60 shots of him today and have so many that I can post about him for months.

The Dark Shouldered Kite is of the Falcon family and they are very adept hunters.
Farmers protect them as they catch field mice and rats and we know that the rodents carry pests that are dangerous for the sheep and cattle. The light brown at his throat tells me that he is still a youngster and I hope that we will kick up a great friendship.

All photos were taken by me with a Canon SX60, in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83