Facebook, Big Bro & Snitchville

in #steemit6 years ago

I run a Facebook page called I Love Manitou Springs and I take pictures of the city to share with others. I've been running the page for six years now.

Imagine my surprise this morning to check a post and a tag on my Facebook wall and discovered the question at the bottom of the picture. Like, really, Facebook.

Hate Speech.jpg

While the question was eventually removed from my Facebook account, it seems others are still discovering it, too. I'm not sure if it will reappear or not on my wall or if it will altogether disappear from Facebook, as it should.

But what is important is that more people are acknowledging the inherent problem with Facebook asking folks to report posts as "hate speech." Did someone you know cut you off in traffic yesterday? Report their Facebook post as hate speech. Disagree with someone's political views? Report them! The slippery slope here should be illuminated.

Big Brother requires Snitchville, and Facebook is paving road. Facebook should just stop. Stop all efforts to be politically correct. Stop all efforts to appease everyone and everyone except conservatives, libertarians, and anyone with a different opinion than one Mr. Zuckerberg.

I have a slim hope Facebook will stop trying to be the Thought Police. But sadly, after this morning, it seems the platform is more interested in ensuring and enabling complaints against ordinary speech, which, after all, is basically the problem we have today in American politics: folks don't, can't, or won't talk with others who have different viewpoints. Some even equate disagreement as hate.

Anyway, I'm spending more time on Steemit now that Facebook is openly trying to facilitate and enable Big Brother. Have yourself a great day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56