I’m going all in with Steemit – no more website for me

in #steemit8 years ago

 

 I’ve been here since BFP (Before First Payout). I’ve been taking my time wrapping my head around steemit and the possibilities. Then I got my renewal notice for my website. I had a decision to make: either pay to renew my hosting for another year or go all in here. I’m going all in here. 

This wasn’t easy. 

I’ve been designing websites since 1996. Designing websites was my life for a number of years and I still do side projects for friends and loved ones. I just think it is time for me to stop doing it all and just do what I like. Steemit allows me to do just that.

 The pros and cons

 The Pros
I won’t have to pay for hosting (duh!)
I can concentrate on creating content instead of patches, updates, SEO, etc.
Better direct access to the people I’m trying to engage
I can expand the scope of what I am doing without it looking off topic
I can still sell shirts and have a swear jar using markdown and HTML codes
I can still cross promote on different platforms
I can have my domain name pointed to my blog page
I would have a better opportunity to get paid! 

The Cons
Not all my content will be in one place. I have to use other sites for hosting images, mp3s and videos. (Fortunately there are free alternatives for these)
No control over site design
A lot of upfront work to get my old content re-published

 Conclusion

 I think the benefits far outweigh the downsides. It makes better financial sense and will save me a lot of maintenance time. I can concentrate more time in doing what I love and less on the things I don’t. I can grow along with the Steemit community and support a project I believe is the future for content creators. It’s time to start publishing my old content. Steemit, I’m home!

Sort:  

You should also consider the possiblity that something could happen to steemit, making it an unviable option. I probably won't get upvoted, because it's not something anyone here wants to hear, but it's not completely out of the realm of possibilities.

Thanks for the suggestion. I have considered it and just like with my website, I have backup copies of all my content so if worse comes to worst, I can start again. In fact I write all my content in Word before posting here.

It looks like the pros outweigh the cons. Congrats on your decision!

Good luck with it.

FYI, if you ever find content I have made and you want to use it, please feel free. I don't believe in copyright. If you want to throw me a hat tip or, if you make money from it, a couple of satoshis or SDs, I would appreciate it.
I have an account on steemimg that I will be using to host my graphics: https://www.steemimg.com/pangurban

UPDATE my domain name is now pointed to my blog: http://www.altcoinanarchy.com

All in never good, be sure to be diversified. That being said, STEEMIT and STEEM could be a great place to start your business and investments, and a place to prove yourself. It's the free market that rewards good content around here, not government bureocrats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48