A year on steemit. -- My vote of gratitude to everyone.

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180919_234712_286.JPG

So I got a notification on GINA this morning from steemitboard and I rushed to check it out. I always knew it was September, but I really could figure out the exact date. Well, now I know it's September 19th 2017. And while I really didn't plan on writing anything about it today, I think it wouldn't hurt a bit to voice out my gratitude to the community for being here.

A whole year on steemit?

Boy the road's been tough as hell, I can tell you that. Came on the platform with literally nothing. And by accident I might add. It just so happened that I found myself in a really rowdy whatsapp group where someone was discussing Steem and steemit.

Steemit? Sure! I quipped. Name rings a bell. I had come across that name a few weeks earlier. In fact, I had tried to sign up and they had promised to get back to me by mail. I was to become "one of the earliest members" of a social media on the blockchain. Apparently I had forgotten and I really didn't take the time to know what it was about anyways. I stumbled upon it during my long wild search on the internet for financial freedom at that time.

So, tell me about steemit, I said. And it took a stroke of luck to keep me keen on reading up what the lad @michaelcj was ranting on and on about. And frankly, I really didn't get it. The heck is steempower and Sbd and voting trail and delegated steem and whales?!

It probably didn't help to come back later to find the group teeming with unendless and insignificant (at that time) discussions about steemit that led to over 1000 unread messages on whatsapp. The horror! I was so sure I wanted to leave!

Well, to cut the long story short, I stayed. I finally followed up on my registration and discovered I had been sent the link a few days back. So I completed the sign-up process and had cold feet coming up with an acceptable introductory post. I did come around though.

IMG_20180920_001750_937.JPG These are next for me.

Steemit as a social media has opened me up to a world of possibilities in just a single year than I have ever thought possible.

Here, I've learnt there exact things they won't teach you in school. Relationships with people, honesty at work, and hard work at work. I've also learnt to get my expectations bashed and not feel too bad about it (this never fails any newbie, unless he/she has a whale for an uncle on here 😜). I've learnt to keep trying to be better, I've learnt to write. And above all, I've learnt the value of my time and my trust. There's no price tag!

I'm not really good at tagging people, but I want to say thanks to everyone for still being here. All of my friends. We've all been weird and fun and awesome as can be! Also, my shoutout to the guys at @steemstem, @oracle-d, @comedyopenmic, @stach, @steemnaira, and to the African curators at Curie and @bigwaves Everyone of you rock.

Thanks for having me!

Sort:  

Congratulations uncle @pangoli, lemme be the first to comment jare, you deserve it

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for being the first buddy. You're a genius yourself! Loving your work rate.

Let me be the second person
Congrats @pangoli
We hope to be like you.

Enjoy

Thanks bro. And hey, after a while lot of searching, I finally figured out where I signed up for autovotes. 😎 I have added you. Let me know if you get my hopes every now and then.

The heck is steempower and Sbd and voting trail and delegated steem and whales?!

"lol"

You are a great Writer, Steemian and Friend!
Happy (1) year anniversary @pangoli

Thank you dear. Thanks for being here too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50