You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A MESSAGE TO THE WHALES FROM THE KING OF STEEMIT!

in #steemit7 years ago

Actually, sometimes I feel it would pay off much better if I took photographs and posted those, as opposed to cryptocurrency news. I see a bunch of simple photo-posts make just as much as my lengthiest posts. As far as I can see, yes there are more rewards in the cryptocurrency and steemit posts but there is also a significantly bigger pool and lots more competition for those rewards.

I would try out all the other categories myself, but most of my followers followed me because of cryptorelated things so I don't really want to scare anybody away by post all kinds of other stuff!

Sort:  

You may be right. The competitiveness for attention in these tags is probably very high. Thinking about it more detailed, I would say the inequality may not be in relation to type of post, but time of post. You've come later to the game and missed out on being a whale, and this is a huge deal in steemit, when it shouldn't be.

Yes the problem is that a whale can post the same news, but do it worse, and still get 100x more views and votes.
I think they are working on improvements. One I really like is the addition of smaller subcommunities surrounding a certain subject. That should allow people to stand out much better within certain subcommunities.

Well I know the recent update did move the balance of power further away from the whales, and the sad thing is, the whales even voted and agreed on it. So even they know how absurdly unbalanced things are. I guess my complaint is the update didn't do enough for brand new users. These are the ones we should be attracting and working hard to keep if we want mainstream adoption.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72