Steemit comments are full of follower spam and it annoys me...

in #steemit7 years ago

Reading comments on steemit reminds me of the days when I had a WordPress blog without spam protection. A gigantic amount of comments provide no value and are only constructed to lure people to the person's blog. Comments can be upvoted and flagged so theoretically the good ones should float to the top but if you have mostly junk it is hard to decide what the least junk is. This annoys me.

Some less obvious spam comments look like genuinely meant sentences but when you have a look at this person's profile you notice that this type of comments are posted everywhere just to attract followers / upvoters.

Comments are mostly worded like:

  • This is very informative
  • Thank you
  • loved...nice post at the end!!!!
  • interesting...
  • so nice video info
  • great post

More obvious comments desperate for upvotes and follows:

  • Your topic is very good, i like you, Plis vote me
  • "Nice. I am from XYZ. I try to my best to earn on it.so you help is very important for me.i already following you.so i hope kindly you follow and upvote me"

I am not sure how to counter that but I genuinely hope this will balance itself out in the future. In its current state comments are less useful and it is very hard to find the really informative ones.

How do you handle all that trash?

Sort:  

To combat this I hit the big o'l Mute button (click on their name and a pop up box appears with the mute button)
Steemit comments are full of follower spam and it annoys me... — Steemit.png

Also, not feeding the trolls/spammers votes can help!

dont feed spammers.png

Great post ;) Nah, I'm kidding the spam does get annoying, I generally ask them if they have read the post or just ignore them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62258.82
ETH 2427.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58