You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Norwegian prison system (part I)

in #steemit8 years ago

I certainly admire the pragmatism of the Norwegian people. I totally agree that their "rehabilitative" approach rather than a purely "punitive" one is the model for other prison systems. However, what concerns me about Norway's future is their leniency on the massive number of rapes that are being committed by "foreign" men in the country. Studies show that rapists are hardly, if ever, "rehabilitated" of their desire to rape. They almost always do it time and time again. In this case, I think a harsher penalty is warranted to act as a deterrent. The sentences for rape in Norway (and Europe as a whole) are usually only a matter of months or a few years. At least in all the cases I've read.

Sort:  

Hi, thanks for the comment :)
I can inform you that rape with sexual intercourse is punished by imprisonment for 3 to 15 years in Norway. Imprisonment for a term not exceeding 21 years may be imposed if the offender has previously been convicted, the rape was particularly painful or offensive, the rape was committed by two or more in jointly etc. If there is a risk of serious re-offending preventive detention may be used. As fare as statistic shows there hasn't been a "massive number of rapes" in Norway. The figures from the police (2014) shows that the rape statistics have remained relatively stable. Date rape has increased slightly, and assault rape has decreased. When it comes to rehabilitation, I agree that pedophiles are hardly ever "rehabilitated" in their mind as far as statistic shows. But amongst rapist in general I think there is more variety. When it comes to harsher penalty, I think we have to agree to disagree. In my opinion a person how wants to / ends up with raping another person, does that despite the high prison sentences.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58248.35
ETH 3136.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36