Steemit continues to delight

in #steemit7 years ago

In the 3 months I have been using Steemit, I have come to appreciate it more and more.

I was initially attracted by the independence of Big Tech like Facebook, Twitter, Google, etc and the censorship they are engaged in on a daily basis.

As I followed people and came to appreciate their humor and plain good sense - I became more prepared to share my opinions. 

Yesterday my post expressed frustration over the school safety debate which also intersects with the gun debate. On just about any other public platform, I am sure the response would have been dominated by abuse and counter abuse - depending on which side of the issue you fall.

But not on Steemit.

Read the replies. They are respectful, factual, engaging, well meaning, and educational. Some politely chided me on my data source and referred me to better sources. Others presented a way of viewing the issue that I had not considered before. On Steemit you can discuss tough issues and feel like you benefit from being part of the discussion. 

That is why Steemit delights.

Steem on !!!

Sort:  

Honest people get three things: trust, love and respect. Respect does not always bring friendship, but friendship can not exist without respect. @ozphil s3_252631_6450699_600323.gif

Well said.

Just for those reasons has succeeded...

and will continue to

steemit is just another Orwellian data collector and privacy invader.

Welcome to Steemit.

I think more and more people are going to like it as they discover it.

Most people I tell about it have never heard of it.