I made $0.20 with my "hello steemit" post. And here is why I am excited about it...

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

I made $0.20 with my "hello steemit" post. And here is why I am excited about it...

There is a lot of talk and discussion about highly paid posts. Jeff Berrwick ( @dollarvigilante ) said hi and made $ 15,000. Someone else posted a make up tutorial and made almost $ 30,000.

And here I made a total sum of (drum roll please) $0.20 for my "hello steemit" post.

If I spent half an hour writing that post, my earnings come a whopping $0.40 an hour. Heck, I could flip burgers and earn much more money than that.

I was told there would be money

So, what am I still doing here, on Steem?

Whether there is money in it or not, I'm still loving Steemit because:

  • Censor Resistant Social Media: As an anarchist, I feel many non politically correct topics are under censorship. From second amendment groups to anti-feminists, there is little space in social media where an anarchist can speak his mind.

  • High Quality Discussions Whatever is posted on steemit, is on the blockchain forever. That makes people more polite. I see an exceptionally high level of civilized discussions on steemit. While the rest of the internet seems to be on the "everyone I don't like is Hitler" level.
    everyone I don't like is hitler

  • High Quality People Some of my favorite anarchists, activists, artists, businessman, marketers, thought leaders, independent journalists are here. Considering this is only a social media platform with around 60,000 registered users, it is amazing the people I find in here.

All in all, I'm not in here to make money. But I am here to make new connections, join in high quality discussions, publish and share good quality content. I'll do my best to post at least one post a day, upvote on content I like, comment on good discussions where I feel I can contribute.

A high quality social media platform has value on its own, and that is what excites me most.

Sort:  

It still a way to freedom from the Central Bankster and freedom of speech from government!

Yep. Central banks, fiat money, fractional reserve, highly leveraged derivatives... It is such a big scam. It is bound to collapse. :D

I'm just here to share like I mention in a poem I posted about why I am here at steemit. sometimes, I put more time in preparing the post because I want the pictures to form a good flow for my readers. Sometimes, I just think of something and thought to pen it down here because the internet never forgets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80