You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Introducing Promoted Content

in #steemit8 years ago

I mentioned that above,and it might be an expensive way to abuse, but as far as I understand it, I could crash your reputation much more effectively this way than I would be able to by stacking up on Steem Power. Imagine if you posted a low quality post and I promoted it for $20k, it wouldn't be too long that whales with high rep would downvote you to near 0, damaging your reputation heavily. All of that being completely out of your control. Imagine a Coke vs Pepsi scenario, Coke promotes a bad Pepsi post for 20k and essentially censors the account in the process. The best solution I see is to split flagging and downvoting. It was needed before this implementation anyway.

After that, the next best step is to have incentivized downvotes. Now that one I'd be interested in knowing if anyone could think of a valid possible exploit. I still can't.

Sort:  

Negative SEO. Guilt by association. On acid.

You can check the null account to find who promoted the post. I've been doing that with the ones I think used too much to promote their post.

Well yea but nothing requires you to use your account. You can easily do that anonymously.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91