immutable video platformsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit6 years ago

Not enough discussion is happening about where our content is going to go if a website or platform shuts down.

Recently with Dlive moving off the steem blockchain I lost a bunch of videos. I’m not too worried about it, cause I’ve only been posting content on there for a couple of months. It was a little disappointing though.

vidsss.png

With youtube having issues last week, I started to think about what would happen if youtube lost all of it’s content….

Some people have been doing videos for many years, and for that to all suddenly disappear would be a disaster.

My personal view and how I'm going about making content on steemit, is as an open diary/blog about music related stuff happening in my life. I’d generally like to see a progression over time in my playing, and also be able to look back on the timeline of events and posts long into the future. Something to build up over time, and perhaps look back on when I'm older.

So… many questions remain.

Where is the safest place to upload video content that you know will be immutable? I like Dtube, but it’s not up to standard yet. You cannot embed, it’s slow to upload, slow to play etc. There's no guarantee that they won't leave the steem blockchain also.

For now I’ll continue using youtube and soundcloud simply cause you’re able to embed the video into the article and don’t need to leave the page. But if anyone has any suggestions about other platforms please let me know.

Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63914.63
ETH 2664.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77