You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I have to confess my sins: Voting bots

in #steemit7 years ago

I used bots too, for several months. I try not to anymore though, I think my last bot vote was in September.

Although it's an option I don't completely leave off the table either...

I see bot votes as equivalent to advertising... If someone spends hours on a post that's truly nice and a lot of people will likely enjoy, it's not a crime to use bots in my opinion. But if someone uses bots on stupid posts, this is something I'm against.




A good product might have expensive tv ads, giving them an advantage... But if their competing product that only advertises in the newspaper is a bad product, I'll support the good product! Advertising (or bot use) is not the issue so much as quality. (Just my opinion).

And who knows, I may change my mind again haha...

Sort:  

Good to know that I am not the only one lol
I called it a sin because I know that many people are totally against it and you feel like you committed a crime here :)
But yes you are absolutely right. Good posts deserve the advertisement at the beginning till the user gets more followers and wont need them anymore.
I didnt use them much in the last two weeks and wanted to see which content users liked more than the others. And I feel that I am doing well now a days :)

I don't remember the 10 commandments speaking about bot-votes XD

The potential for abuse is high, so that's why a lot of people would like to do away with them altogether... Will there be a solution to limit them? I'm not sure!

Glad you are doing better!

Hahaha, your bot up there does not look too friendly at all.

As the bots get more popular, they actually don't pay out so well and people actually lose money... especially if the currency changes between purchase and payout.

I wouldn't mind if the bots disappeared, but I think they'll always be around... as long as there is money to be made, people will always try and figure out the tricks to get more.

I know what you mean, I remember when booster or randomwhale were worth it... nowadays... not so sure... Too bad there's not a short-cut way to get more visibility without draining the reward pool, but commenting, replying and posting is the tried and true way to go.

When I first started with bots, I literally thought it was money for free... but when I started to spreadsheet it, it was rarely the case.

I was much happier once I forgot about the bots... trying to pick unpopular times and then seeing someone scream in at the last 2 minutes with a big bid to make it unprofitable for everyone was too frustrating.... but also I like the interactive nature of Steem, it really does suit me.

hhh the 10 commandments is nice. Well as people didnt follow the real 10 commandments, they wouldn't follow it here as well :)
You cant limit them because now many people and whales joining the service.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59705.02
ETH 2619.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39