Stop Writing Sucky Articles trying to not so subtly get the attention of a Passing Whale duh/ urgh ALL MINNOWS LISTEN UP...

in #steemit7 years ago

Ok I'm new here myself

I've only been here for a short while and like everyone I'd like to get involved, become part of the community, grow a dorsal and build up a following.. 1,000 posts later though and I've put my best efforts into it. I've been posting about stuff which actually interests me, that I'm quite good at and I've posted some of my better work, photographs, films, art projects.

Crypto-News

I'm a also a bit of a BlockChain evangelist, visualiser and part time analyst. It's partly how I ended up here and I really do like to read / write / digest & discuss the whole BlockChain / Economic / 3rd Major Revolution Theme; It's potential impacts on society, which chain projects may be successfull, la de dah.. ad infinitum. STEEMIT's open format allows me to do that and I've made some good (online) buddies.. which is nice.

Stamp your Mark

I've won a couple of competitions, I've created a few (6 giveaways of the scant Steem that I've earned.. oh yeah, sweated into the nights crafting photo journal essays ( they can take hours ) including editing the mistakes and then consider the hours of work that went into the photography and the hours uploading them and processing them on my system. logging and batch converting. cropping adjusting, titling them just so I can use them here.

Try a little bit of markdown.. just a bit !

asterix stars on either side with no spaces for EMPHASIS, it's good for names & titles of things. Type "markdown cheatsheet" in quotes like this into google

1 Hash then space

2 Hash then space

3 Hash then space

SO PLEASE UPGRADE YOUR POSTING (just a bit) get a bit creative

I've noticed over the last few week that there is so much whalebait that it's beginning to harsh my buzz, it's cringey ! somebody tell them (OK I WILL) stop it.. stop asking for upvotes, stop asking for follows, stop putting links to your posts into your reply to posts.. it's so thin it's like paper. It's embarrasing to read, how can you write it ?

Typing a link..

.. and saying check this out doesn't count as a good post..it's not even a post is it? especially if you're not even going to comment on why it's a good / interesting / groundbreaking / provocative / outrageous / unbelievable story

RANT OVER...this post will probably do ok ! and if it doesn't hey at least I'm contributing and this will be indelibly written into the BlockChain forever

DreamSeries-London_fibre_grid__small_DSC6926_bright.jpg

here's a piece of my artwork just so you can see what I mean.. it will show up in the post list.. hey I might even promote this post so it reaches a wider audience

Sort:  

You should see the sycophantic comments on posts by the bigger players, they are an art form all of their own here.

I'm already following you ! I can't double follow.. maybe I can upvote your comment instead.. see 1p from me to you ...boom, we'll share that unless someone else gets involved ;)

yeah, I'm just hanging with the little fish here. we're like a shoal of fry underneath the bridge... tasty though !

Some wonderful advice. Good quality posts do take time, and that is why they should be rewarded with some good upvotes.

I feel like my two most successful posts were actually pretty poor content-wise. I mean at least it seemed nothing too exceptionally interesting in everyday life, but I put time effort and care into making them. Maybe that is what got them noticed and led to a $200+ payout on each. (well one was $196 and some change).

One thing I'm guilty of myself, is not putting enough style into my posts. Steemit is good in that it posts a link to their markdown styling guide near the preview when posting, for example:

Screenshot (17).png

But again, guilty of not using it every time myself.

Thanks for the advice @outerground!! Quality post here man, I will be sure to check out the rest of your blog!

@kemosabe, that's amazing, I'm not sure If I've ever even noticed the MSG.. even thought I've looked at it 1014 times.. time = quality and lucky posting time ..which is probably about 9.30pm GMT I'm following people who respond to this post.. that's you ! $200 posts, that's a nice amount for your troubles.. I reckon some of my photo essay posts are easily worth $200 but they sometimes get $0.10 that can make your dorsal fin just unevolve back into your back.. but hey ho, sometimes I'm surprised.. especially when I make $10 from a post about crypt-analysis.. makes me feel like a real expert ;)

You're saying that you think that 9:30 P.M GMT is prime-time for posting quality content? In your experience is this about the time your most successful posts have been posted?

That's an interesting idea. I am on steemit all throughout the day, but I would like to see a chart of the times where most users are active with an integrated chart of the "weight" they hold... for example, i'd like to see the most overall active users as well as those users who are whales, etc. Not sure if I worded this clearly!

I know what you mean anyway.. the whales are all in slack /chat / discord anyway, pumping iron.. ugh, it's so complicated

Yeah, I jumped in to a whaleshares discord group the other day.... I was just overwhelmed and all by it, and left.

I know there are some third party platforms for steemit to get popular and do post promotions and whatnot, I've heard of streemian, but I don't like the idea of having to directly connect my account with it and have my private keys on their side of things. Just in case their side of things were to be compromised. I never got real feedback on the security of it though.

I'll have to keep in mind the times you mentioned above, that is a really interesting aspect I hadn't ever thought of. I am in EST time zone, so i'll have to do some conversions, but thanks for the info @outerground!! looking forward to seeing you around on steemit, especially seeing you are a filmmaker etc. I appreciate the lens. good luck and take care!

I've been blogging for years and it works like this.. the most traffic is coming from california through to the eastern seaboard so 8 to 5 hours behind GMT starting at about 7pm for everyone.. and t hen Europe which is 1 or 2 hours ahead of GMT.. you have to post pre-peak hour and it's always been the same.. tumblr, (instagram slightly different cos it's more phone based and simple to reply, no reading involved..) but it's all a bit random and if you write good posts, then people will look out for you ! (I think)

Being in this for the money vs being in this for the people are the defining factors as to whether people grow their dorsals or stay minnows. Thanks for the rant, it shows a new perspective.

I think you can see it for what it is.. people have been blogging for what seems like centuries and getting diddly squat out of it.. now that Altcoins are growing up fast, it's ok to want to see the bread.. I've got 2 daughters to look after and have no shame about wanting to cash up some revenue.. but I think you need to be self aware, post good content, and get involved in other people's business.. like you have. ( & you've got 1 new follower for your troubles.. my upvotes are worth 1p Get in

Understandable that people want to reap the rewards it just sucks when it taints their content. And thanks!

pleasure's all mine, look forward to checking out your shizzle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63316.74
ETH 2581.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79