First Uber spreading the word about Steemit!

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians, as I have told you before, I am Omar from Mexico and as I have mentioned before as well I am a strong supporter of Bitcoin and the Blockchain technology (and now of Steemit) and a couple of days ago (last Friday to be precise) a wonderful idea came to my mind! Use the car I have working in UBER to introduce the lucky people that rides on it to Steemit (I say lucky because riding on it could change their lives by joining Steemit).

Since I have an iPad mini that I never use, the first thing I did was going to the Best Buy that is in the Mall across the street from my office and bought one of these


Yeah! the receipt is there for those of us that are quite skeptical (and I don't mean this as a bad thing at all, with so many fake stories we should be).

Then I created a small slideshow of just 3 slides, I am not a marketing guy but I did my best, simple but convincing (the english translation of the text is below each slide) !


"The first social network that pays you for content creation and curation"


"Success examples"


"What are you waiting for? Join at www.steemit.com and share your biggest passions"

Finally, I called my driver and told him I wanted to see him on the next day (don't think I made him meet me just for my little experiment, I had to meet with him anyway because he needed bottled water).

At the next morning ....

BIG SURPRISE!!! Something I never expected!

Guess what??!! My car is one of those where the headrest is not separate from the car seat!!!! YEEES there was absolutely NO place where I could put my magnetic mount!!! I know what you are thinking now, how could I not know how the seats of my car were? well just like that! even when I myself HAVE used my car as transportation when I had no driver, I never noticed this or probably I did but being irrelevant on my day to day thoughts, it never really took place on my brain.

So there I was trying to think how could I mount my iPad on the seat of my car... and suddenly I realized there was a Parisina store in the mall where I was (a store that has all kinds of fabrics and stuff to make hand crafts) so I made a run for it.

After some minutes and with some creativity and the help of my girlfriend, I managed to transform what I bought on the store into a nice elastic mount for the car seat.

Finally .... VOILÀ!


My driver was ready to go and start spreading the word about Steemit, I just gave him a couple of instructions for the iPad, I thanked him and apologized for keeping him there for almost an hour and I said good bye (I also said goodbye to my iPad, hope nothing happens to it)

Why I did this?
Like I said before, I am a strong supporter of Bitcoin and the Blockchain technology, I am currently giving some Bitcoin talks at the Oracle Mexico Development center (I'll share on this with you on a later post) and my sole objective is to grow the Bitcoin community in Mexico and what better place to start than the Development center of one of the biggest tech companies "Oracle". Now I have decided to also start spreading the word about Steemit to help it grow as well.

Finally some numbers...
My Uber works 10 hours a day doing on average 14 trips daily, worst case scenario only one person each trip, this means more than 80 people each week is being introduced to steemit, at least 350+ each month and 4,000+ a year. I know is not much but if we all did something like this, that would be a big number. Also keep in mind that these people will talk about steemit with their friends and them with their friends and so on, making my Uber only the seed of the propagation.

So, what do you think Steemians? Is the slideshow ok? Should I change something? I really want to contribute to the growth of Steemit, any thoughts and suggestions will be highly appreciated.

I hope you enjoyed what turned out to be a somewhat hilarious story of my idea of introducinig steemit to the lucky passengers of my Uber.

Bye for now!

Sort:  

Good job promoting the community! Keep it up, we need more people like you on here.

Thanks tyler! I will ;)

Awesome man, I need to make a Flashing Steemit Billboard to put on the back of my semi truck.....whales upvote this comment so I can make that happen! LOL!

That would be a good idea, we all have ways to contribute to the growth of this incredible platform.

Buen Trabajo @oumar . Saludos desde Los Angeles, CA
Full $TEEM Ahead!
@streetstyle

Saludos @streetstyle ! Gracias por tu comentario! I'll keep with the good work!

Thanks @alitas , yours is a real nice promotion for Steemit as well, lets keep this good work! Saludos desde Mexico!

@oumar Wow! That's a great idea!
By the way @alechahn is the owner of bitcoin42 a company that owns and operates bitcoin atms and does cryptocurrency classes in Mexico.

You should reach out to him I could see the Mexico steemians quickly becoming a force to be reckoned with.

hey @oumar, great initiative. Maybe you should film yourself introducing steemit to your clients!

Hi @kuriko, thanks! The problem is that like I mentioned, I myself don't drive the uber but I am planning on promoting Steemit in my other Business and there I would be able to film myself doing it, great idea! ;) wait for my next story!

Buenísima idea la verdad mi estimado @oumar ! Que bueno que ya estás difundiendo la palabra en México. Yo lo estoy haciendo en Monterrey.

Gracias @quintanilla , excelente que tu también estés difundiendo la palabra, continuemos haciéndolo y pronto seremos una gran comunidad ;)

Nice Idea!
Did you explain to your driver what #Steemit is too? Just in case when customers might ask him "What's this Steemit stuff about?".
You should check out @arcadecity, it is a decentralized "Uber" in the making and should be available by the end of the year. That could save you all those extremly high fees that you have to pay Uber at the moment.

Careful with Arcade City... there's some shady info coming out about the founder of the company. Lots of people owed money. http://fusion.net/story/330436/christopher-david-arcade-city/

Interesting. But I wasn't planing to invest money in Arcade City anyway. I would just appreciate a decentralized Uber alternative. Like millions of customers and drivers around the globe. If they deliver the dapp like announced it's great, if not well then (hopefully) someone else will come up with a similar dapp.

Absolutely. It's a great idea and it's where the market is heading anyway. Free market and decentralization FTW :) I actually like Chris and hope he gets his shit straightened out so that Arcade City can succeed!

Hi @deepdarkweb sure I did! He didn't seem to understand it very well but he was able to tell the passengers what was Steemit, also he called me yesterday to ask for more info cause people were asking him hehe.

You should try to make him sign up too. "Learning by doing" is the best way to understand it better.

Now this is a perfect example of Mexican people being smart and having the required talent to identify a good opportunity when we see one. Excellent job Oumar, people like you inspire me every day!!

Hi @rulatzillo ! Your words mean a lot to me! Thanks for your support!

@btotherest I would say this is a #GoldenNugget. Dude is out here promoting Steemit in Mexico like a boss

Wow! Thanks @cashbandicoot, I would be honored @btotherest ;)

I concur. This is brilliant!

Thanks menta!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 61436.95
ETH 3388.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49