You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 2011 Nissan Leaf in the Freezing Cold without a heater!

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

Do those prices include labor and a mechanic's markup?! If so, you should buy the parts online and DIY. It can seem daunting, but after watching a few videos, buying a wrench set, and asking a friend to keep you company, you can save thousand$$$ on repairs. Recenlty, my son's car stopped cranking. I replaced the battery (~$62 at Walmart) and starter ($50 online instead of $133 at the local auto parts shop). After a few hours spread over two days and some greasy hands, my son and I fixed it. Great memories and a new-found sense of independence!

Sort:  

Those prices do not include repair...it took them 14 hrs to diagnose and they cleared those costs...the prices are just for parts....it's crazy. =(

On eBay, for the Nissan Leaf, a new heater core costs $352 USD. For example: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Genuine-Nissan-Heater-Core-27140-1FC0A/202060910835

This one is not for the leaf. I did look on ebay but didn't find anything.

A used "2012 NISSAN LEAF DC Junction box DC/DC w/quick charge 292C0-3NA0B OEM Autogator" costs US $220.00.
https://www.ebay.com/itm/2012-NISSAN-LEAF-DC-Junction-box-DC-DC-w-quick-charge-292C0-3NA0B-OEM-Autogator/122454342805

This one doesn't ship to canada. I tried.

I think they're taking your money. Better walk away and find a mechanic you can trust.

I have tried looking for one. can't find any. I walked away after paying for the heater. THey thought that would fix it but then told me DC/DC converter needs replacing and gave me a price. I was like, nop i'm out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66593.69
ETH 3319.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71