Sort:  

If the whales don't vote, the rewards of minnows and dolphins go up because the reward pool (i.e. the amount of Steems available for reward distribution) stays the same. You can think of this simply as a big bowl of pudding: If I have a very big spoon, I can empty the bowl pretty fast. If people with large spoons refrain from eating pudding, the people having only small spoons can eat more (i.e. they can distribute a higher percentage of rewards). ;-)

Disclaimer: I still don't like this experiment for a large variety of reasons but that shouldn't be the topic of this comment.

Crazy as I was reading the comment I was having pudding for dessert :)

Well, Hagbard Celine is capable of many things. Including telepathy.

Its a great skill!!!

Indeed, it is. Now go and have a nice chat with your kids and stop worrying about money so much. I can sense that you are doing exactly that right now...

Oh my gosh, what a good comparison :D

@playfulfoodie: Thank you! I just LOVE pudding. :-)

Oh, I didn't know that there is a collective pool of steem. I thought each user has its own pool. Thank you.

You're welcome. If you want to learn more I can recommend this (slightly outdated) article: https://steemit.com/steem/@cryptomental/steem-internals-10-payment-reward-system-demystified

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61720.10
ETH 2429.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63