What It's Like to Be Harassed and Falsly AccusedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago

Since the first week I joined Steemit I have been doing a weekly giveaway. I spend $100 on a coin with a low market cap and research it and make a small informative post about the basics of the coin. Then whoever leaves their address for that specific coin, I put their name in a website called randomresult.com and it picks one name out of the list. The prize is usually around $25 worth of the weekly cryptocurrency.

This week I just happened to pick Storj because it had an unusually low market cap and the giveaway got up to $150+ because the price of Storj went crazy in just a few days. Someone who I had a few good interactions with prior to the drawing kind of went off the deep end and started saying that I was using multiple accounts to enter my own giveaway.

Besides not making sense to me personally for such a small amount of money, this guy is also accusing people that I don't even know of being me, with alternate accounts. All six weeks that I have done this giveaway, everything was enjoyable. I got some interactions on my post, which is why most of us are here, and I was gaining followers every week. I looked forward to my day off on Monday so I could research a new coin that I thought had potential and share my hours of research with the few people that enjoyed reading my posts.


Image

Then right before I have to leave for work tonight I start getting harassed and called a liar and cheater. I even got submitted to #nuke on steemchat, and I'm still not sure exactly what that is. He says the whales will decide my fate.

So I'm thinking, great someone with a lot of power or a bot army is going to start aggressively flagging my posts. I've never been harassed or threatened before so I don't really know what he means by that. I checked out the page on steemchat and it looks like a legit thing, so I'm fine with him submitting my post to them. I only have one account. I'm not cheating anybody.

It sucked worrying about this BS at work tonight. I've been trying to get people to join Steemit with my posts, and they have. It's just so frustrating to actually try to do something good and fun and have some guy try to ruin it.

Is he doing this because he didn't win? Fine, I offered to send him a few Storj tokens. Surely if someone was having such a bad day that they would throw a tantrum over not winning a freebie contest, I could make his day with something I spent $3 on. Nope, that turned into me trying to bribe him to drop the whole thing.

I don't want to mute him because I enjoy his contests post. Maybe he is just trying to do the right thing and bring justice to those who would win their own contests. I'm not really sure what to do. He's just connecting so many dots that aren't there.

I know I won't get many people reading this but if anybody has any advice I'm open to suggestions. I don't want to be called a scammer and have people following me being called scammers either.

Oh, the ironic thing. I think what led him to my blog in the first place is when I upvoted a post he made where he was apologizing to certain users for falsely accusing them of being scammers.

Anyway, I'm not going to stop what I'm doing because of one bad apple. I'm still doing my giveaway every week. I'm not limiting the people that enter to only established users. I want new people to come on board because Steemit is already pretty special, and it can use as many good people as it can get!

Sort:  

That's really rough man! I'm sorry you are going through that. I can't imagine why someone would think you are trying to stack your own contest. That's silly! And for some obscure alt-coin? Hopefully he realizes later that he made a big mistake and cools his temper down. I go on steemit for fun. I want to show people cool things and read people who I'm interested in.

Just so you know I appreciate reading your weekly post on new cryptocurrencies. I am always trading in and out obscure ones on cryptopia and it's fun. It gives me a chance to see why someone developed a project and to see the backers. Some of them are deprecated and no longer really maintained. Finding good chains with passionate people is fun. I continued mining feathercoin for months after it was no longer profitable in 2014 just because the community was so vibrant.

I wish I could find a coin to mine. All I have is a cheap laptop or I think I'd be mining Vertcoin right now!

not false accusations.

I found your account from making posts with lists of contests here
what happened between me and other users is irrelevant to this situation
the facts are based on your activity not mine.

you claim to bring users to the site through a link to this giveaway

@bru account also said this yet no links exist

the accounts @bru @quantson @crrdlx activity upon creation was mainly directed to your account and entering your contest and little else

can be viewed through the blockchain here

https://steemd.com/@crrdlx

https://steemd.com/@quantson

https://steemd.com/@bru

Not that I really should have to do this but here's a picture of my Bittrex withdraws taken 5 minutes ago.

https://www.reddit.com/r/vertcoin/comments/6poa0b/vertcoin_giveaway_on_steemit/?st=j6axp93k&sh=8688039d

Here's my link that answers my claims. I don't know about bru's, I don't have twitter. There's a post for Swarm City too but I didn't get any replies on it.

Now just leave me alone and quit harassing. And if you need professional help please get it. You are making wacky accusations for some reason that you are not in control of. I really don't think you are trying to be a bad person, but you are just completely wrong on this.

I see it shows coins moving from one wallet to another quite simple to setup multiple wallets and move coins to show "proof".

Where is the link to the promotion where you said these new users came from it was the gridcoin you stated and was the time they joined?

I'm not harassing you're the one making unfounded slanderous claims against me.

I'm basing this on the suspicious activity of these accounts to yours and the false claims in defense.

I tried to give you the benefit of the doubt but I see it's pointless. I said people joined because of Vertcoin. Which I'm guessing crrdlx and quantson were among those since they both seem to join the same day.

I wish you luck. I'll just mute you.

You see the winners getting paid on the date of the drawing... That's what you meant to say right?

The link is the reddit post.

no its not what i said at all
itis very easy to make multiple wallets and to show as false proof
the first i noticed was the account @bru who you said joined because of you and @bru said was through twitter link that doesn't exist

This is a sad thing to see. Wish you good fortune bro.

Thanks. It's getting pretty annoying, that's for sure.

You are not a scammer or whatever.... don´t think too much about it ;)!

I think in the 1st place he simply could not accept, that you gave the coins to a account he couldn´t be sure about it´s not your own or one of thousends of scamm accounts.... think thats the whole point ;)

To me you have proven that you and your giveaways are real.
If anyone of the @isacoin crew wants facts, feel free to contact me at https://steemit.chat (same name)... i directly put screenshots in the comments to make this clear and to avoid things like this.... (@ week1 grc for example)....

The way you choose a winner and who you allow to take part in the raffle is your own decision. Noone elses.

I really like what you are doing here and will definitly go on with my support to you. There is nothing to be worried about ;)!

Have a nice day :)

Thanks buddy. At this point I don't think there is any proof that will change this guy's mind.

I just take things too seriously sometimes I guess.

Congratulations @oregonpop! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has received a 1.49 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @oregonpop.

OP, trolls gonna troll. No matter what either of us say, this gremlin is going to see what he wants to see. Thank you again for the incredible gift of 75 STORJ. Don't let someone else's warped opinions skew your positive outlook. I will continue to follow and post, you keep writing.

Congratulations @oregonpop! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83