Steecky thoughts #1: Steem is like a Pokémon –it evolves [3 min]

in #steemit8 years ago (edited)
 A blog by @ooak 
It's a place for me to give birth to my thoughts. Meta thoughts about "Steemit", external thoughts about life and  experiences. My aim is to bring value to people, entertain the audience  and craft my writing skills all at the same time.
I will write short to medium size blogs because I believe that today more than ever time is money and attention is hard to get.



Pokémon  is the Sh*t right now.  I thought it's only appropriate to compare "Steemit" to Pokémon's. Strange I know but please bear with me.

Please ask yourself a simple question: what is "Steemit"?

The simple answer is a "social media" but what kind of social media? Is it "Facebook", "Reddit", "Myspace"? 

When I first stumbled upon "Steemit" my initial thought was "cool a crypto-Reddit!". Yes it is more like "Reddit", you make posts about different topics and vote according to your own values. After a week of  learning the system, reading the content, voting up and down I think "Steemit" is much more than "Reddit". And I also think that we haven't  seen its final evolution.

If you ask me now what is "Steemit" I would answer: it's "Reddit" mixed with "Quora", "Kickstarter", "Myspace".

The "Reddit" part is obvious; it's a forum, you share posts and memes, great.

"Quora" is known as a Q&A type of website where you ask questions and receive answers from the crowd or experts. Currently "Quora" doesn't  have a compensation mechanism built inside. Good writers get only  publicity for their answering skills. But no monetary compensation for  helping others (not that it's a bad thing).
Guess who can  disrupt "Quora"? Bingo! It's "Steemit" with a built in mechanism for payments. 

In the future I will try to expand more about "Steemit" as "Quora" use case.

"Kickstarter" gives the audience a chance to donate money to projects they want to see built. Donators receive compensation (gifts for example) in exchange for their monetary contribution. "Steemit" is again the ultimate platform to disrupt "Kickstarter". Why you ask? Well it's simple with a single vote you can donate money to projects without spending your own real hard cash. Just use your "Steemit" Power. How great is that? Free contribution to  projects you like.
We have already seen some projects like translating an app (Here),  or contributing to homeless people (Here).

If you don’t remember "Myspace" is a blogging platforms, you open your own page, design it and start blogging.
"Steemit" is obvious a blogging platform with an instant up side of receiving money for you content. I see many more bloggers moving away from other blogging platform or self made website-blog to "Steemit".

There are more "Steemit" use cases (like Betting) that I will blog about in the future.

In  conclusion I wanted to show you guys that "Steemit" is still small.  It's like a Pokémon Yet to evolve to its more grown up forms.
It's yet to be seen what kind of value users will create or derive from it.

Shower thought: Can I fork "Steemit" and become a whale in my own small pond?

@ooak signing out…    


#steem #blog #writing #steemthough #prayforwhales


Sort:  

People don't die using Steem or Steemit.
Many pokemon addict has died using pokemon go.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66038.35
ETH 3444.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61